Falls teachers, staff earn recognition

Jones claims coveted Educator of the Year Award
by Jeff Pederson Sheboygan Falls News Editor

The 2010-11 school year was unlike any other in recent memory for public school teachers, administrators and support staff members throughout the state of Wisconsin.

With complicated political issues often overshadowing accomplishments in the classroom in recent months, the Sheboygan Falls School District Faculty and Staff Awards Program offered some due credit to the educators that have excelled in their chosen profession.

The event provided a chance to honor that have remained dedicated to the education field through longevity, determination, innovation, volunteer service and outstanding achievement.

Milestone Years of Service Awards were distributed to 24 members of the Sheboygan Falls School District faculty and support staff.

Special recognition also went to those with outstanding accomplishments in and out of the classroom through the Friends of Education, Community Service and Educator of the Year awards.

Nancy Jones received the 2011 Educator of the Year Award for her work as the high school library media specialist.

She was described by her colleagues as having a love of books and dedication to technology and literacy.

Jones was also commended for her changing views on the role of libraries in schools and willingness to create library and media curriculum to match what is being taught in the classroom.

Four Friend of Education Awards were handed out to honor special volunteer contributions at the elementary, middle and high school.

High School special education teacher Jason Peters presented the Friend of Education Award at the high school to Randy Romanoski of Sheboygan Chevrolet-Cadillac Inc.

Peters described Romanoski’s generosity in donating a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan to the Sheboygan Falls High School Falcon Academy for use during the 2010-11 school year. “With the donation of this vehicle, The Falcon Academy was able to continue to participate in many great community service learning options,” Peters said. “This is by far the most generous donation our program has ever received. I want to thank Randy for all he did to help our Falcon Academy this year.” Middle School Principal honored “Grandma” Rose Moran with the Middle School Friend of Education Award. Markofski spoke of her dedication to helping students at Sheboygan Falls Middle School in any way possible. “Our school is a better place because of her,” Markofski said. Kindergarten teacher Cindy Ausloos recognized Diane Wagner with an Elementary Friend of Education Award. Ausloos talked about Wagner’s work in assisting kindergartners on a volunteer basis. “Diane has nurturing talents that work perfectly in helper or kindergarten learners,” Ausloos said. “Our kids look forward to her visits so much, and she is always greeted with smiles and hugs. She makes an incredibly positive difference in our classrooms.” Elementary School Principal Kellie Manning honored retired SFES Principal Joe Mukavitz with an Elementary School Friend of Education Award. “It is so great to have Joe come back and support our school, even after his retirement,” Manning said. “It is incredible how he knows all the students’ names and it is great to see how the kids react when they see him.” Mukavitz was thankful to have an opportunity to help out at SFES. “I love being back,” he said. “I enjoy being with the kids and the staff very much. The best thing about being back as a retired person is that I can do just the things I want to do.” Community Service Awards went to middle school teachers Dick Bemis and Vickie Udelhoven, who spearheaded the SFMS Beautification Project, which improved the look of the exterior of the school building through the addition of trees and shrubs. Marie Reiter also claimed a Community Service Award for her efforts in organizing charitable events and activities throughout the district for a variety of worldwide causes. Keith Binversie honored Bernie McKichan, high school world language teacher, with a Distinguished Service Award. Binversie acknowledged McKichan’s work as a member of the Sheboygan Falls Faculty Association. “With Bernie’s retirement, the district is losing a lot of experience and knowledge,” Binversie said. “His vast contributions to the Sheboygan Falls Faculty Association can’t even be measured.” School Board President John Mauer recognized retiring District Administrator Dave Wessel for his four plus years of service to the district. “I first met Dave when we were doing our search for a new district administrator four and a half years ago,” Mauer said. “At the time, the School Board wanted someone that would give us the stability that we needed. “He was a lot of help to me personally,” he said. “He gave me a lot of good advice and I have a lot of respect for him. I wish him all the best for a long and healthy retirement.” Mauer also addressed the teachers and staff members in attendance. “Understand this was the toughest year of your careers,” he said. “I appreciate your professionalism during the tough times, as do the other members of the School Board. I want you to know that we understand your concerns and fears. At the same time, we are proud of the way you have represented the Sheboygan Falls School District during the past few months.” Mauer also congratulated this year’s retirees. “This year’s group of retirees represents 440 years of in the education profession,” he said. “I can’t thank each of you enough for your incredible dedication to education.” The district’s 17 faculty and staff retirees received a rousing sendoff, as each was honored with special presentations from their colleagues. Keith Binversie, high school social studies teacher, honored by Jamie Flagstad. Fred Brown, Recreation and Aquatic Director, honored by Cindy Dorn. Bill Davis, high school science teacher, honored by Mike Nikson. Patrick Doughman, high school art teacher, honored by Mike Schade. Marty Gross, computer technology specialist, honored by Barry Ludvik. Shelly Haas, early childhood teacher, and Jill Harmelink, speech therapist, honored by Ann Roy. Diane Hoerth, elementary school art teacher, honored by Kerrie Levenduski. Dawn Hogue, high school English teacher, honored by Kim Johnson. Dan Juedes, high school physical education teacher, honored by Chuck Baranek. Jan Westphal, high school math teacher, honored by Sue Caine, Gwen Pribek and Deb Hasler. Deb Klock, elementary school second-grade teacher, honored by second-grade teaching team. Bernie McKichan, high school world language teacher, honored by Laura Dell. Julie Metz, administrative assistant, honored by Kellie Manning. Mike Schade, high school special education teacher, honored by Deb Wehrman. Mary Schaefer, elementary school fourth-grade teacher, honored by fourth-grade teaching team. Heather Schneider, elementary school third-grade teacher, honored by Tom Oetjen. Kellie Manning distributed Elementary School Years of Service Awards.

10 years – Marisa Kluth, Sandy Rotter
15 years – Doug Johnson
20 years – Christy Richardson, Mary Jo Heidenreiter
25 years – Cindy Ausloos
30 years – Deb Klock
Meloney Markofski handed out Middle School Years of Service Awards.
10 years – Andrea Anderson, Gary Mlejnek, Renee Moldenhauer, Susan Hepp, Barbara Pupps
20 years – Tammy Ison, Tim Sass
25 years – Lori McCabe, Judy Wolf
30 years – Karen Marx
High School Principal John Phelps dished out High School Years of Service Awards.
10 years – Faye Oppeneer, Julie Hahn, Bill Born
15 years – Donna Deeley, Bill Davis, Jason Peters
20 years – Chris Zengler

Most recent cover pages:

Copyright 2009-2018 The Plymouth Review, All Rights Reserved

Contact Information

113 E. Mill St., Plymouth WI 53073
Local: 920-893-6411 Toll Free: 1-877-467-6591
Fax: 920-893-5505