Falls’ Marten earns first EWSC victory

by John Tienor

MANITOWOC – With a huge crowd and pits overflowing with cars and drivers, Hales Corners Reunion Night and The George Scheffler Memorial were set to go off with a bang at the Eastern Wisconsin Stock Cars’ racing program here Friday night.

With a large number of 360 Sprints in their second of three consecutive nights of competition, several drivers had to advance out of the B Main. They included Scotty Thiel (Sheboygan), Brandon McMullen (Plymouth), Randy Brunette (Chilton), Al Schlafer (Sussex), Jeremy Schultz (Beaver Dam), and Kurt Davis (West Allis).

Rolling out for the feature, Jeff Wilke (Genoa) was on the pole, with Shane Wenninger (Kewaskum) and a second row of John Krebsbach (Cascade) and Kyle Marten (Sheboygan Falls).

Wenninger would get around Wilke to lead lap one but Marten would take over the point on lap two. At lap five it was still Marten up front, with Wenninger, Tim Haddy (Waupan), Wilke and Robbie Pribnow (Mayville) comprising the top five, respectively.

Back in the pack it was Lance Fassbender (Burnett), Ben Schmidt (Howards Grove), and Brian Portschy (Plymouth) starting to make big moves forward. Lap 10 showed Marten, Wenninger, Haddy, Schmidt, and Pribnow in the top five, respectively.

With the laps counting up quickly, Marten still held the lead at the midway point deep in lapped traffic, with Schmidt taking advantage of the lapped cars to close in. With five laps to go it was still Marten leading but Schmidt was in his wake now and closing in, followed in order by Pribnow, Wenninger and Fassbender.

Crossing under the checkers it was Marten with his first win of the season, followed in order by Schmidt, Pribnow, Fassbender, Haddy, Earl Possi (Rock, Mich.), Portschy, Pete Ostrowski (East Troy), Wenninger, and Paul Pokorski (West Bend).

With 39 Late Models on hand attempting to make the show for the George Scheffler Memorial Race, there were two B-Mains run – transferring four drivers out of each event. Moving on in the first B-Main were Gordie Seegert (Oostburg), Justin Hirt (Tigerton), Ron Berna (Green Bay), and Mitch McGrath (Neosho).

Out of the second B-Main the transferring drivers were Brad Mueller (Random Lake), who would have to scratch from the big show with engine issues, Pete Parker (Kaukauna), Dan Sorce (Franklin), Ron Stroika (Mukwonago). Replacing Mueller in the feature was Billy Rezutek (Big Bend).

Doug Blashe (Marion) and Bret Sievert (Mukwonago) sat on the front row of the Memorial, with Nick Anvelink (Navarino) and Jim Rychtik (Port Washington) on the second row. Sievert took the early lead with Blashe, Anvelink, Rychtik, and Al Atkinson (Milwaukee) rounding out the top five, respectively, after a lap.

Lap five showed a top five, in order, of Sievert, Anvelink, Rychtik, Blashe, and Turk Letizia (Milwaukee). A lot of action in the middle of the pack would start to mess things up in a bit, but at lap 10 it was still Sievert in the lead, with Anvelink, Rychtik, Russ Scheffler (Waukesha), and Blashe chasing him down.

Lap 12 would bring out the first caution for Blashe who rolled to a stop in turn three. He would pit and return to the track.

The restart leader was Sievert, followed by Anvelink, Scheffler, Rychtik and Tim Buhler (Glenbeulah), respectively. On the restart, Russ Scheffler would get around Sievert but Buhler would bring out the next caution on lap 15 – spinning in turn two.

On the restart, Sievert would spin, bringing out another caution. The second restart would still be Russ Scheffler in the lead, followed in order by Anvelink, Rychtik, Letizia and Pete Parker (Kaukauna).

The second restart leaders remained the same until lap 18 when Atkinson and Seegert got together going down the frontstretch and Seegert caught the guard-rail opening and then flipping violently in the entrance to turn one.

Anvelink had maneuvered around Scheffler for the lead and would hold it on the restart, with Russ trying to chase him down in the final two laps. At the checkers it was Anvelink with the huge win, followed in order by Letizia, Russ Scheffler, Pete Parker, Craig Schueffner (Sheboygan Falls), TJ Dolhoun (Franklin), Stroika, Buhler, Blashe, and Berna.

Loren Lubach of Plymouth won the Grand National feature event. Matt Yancey, Sheboygan, finished third.

Ray Fuller of Manitowoc earned first in the Hobby Stock feature. Bradley Ruh, Elkhart Lake, placed second, followed by Plymouth’s Jeff Bender and Elkhart’s Michael Plate Jr., respectively.

Most recent cover pages:

Copyright 2009-2018 The Plymouth Review, All Rights Reserved

Contact Information

113 E. Mill St., Plymouth WI 53073
Local: 920-893-6411 Toll Free: 1-877-467-6591
Fax: 920-893-5505

 Insurance Solutions