Spring election ballot filled

by Emmitt B. Feldner of The Review staff

A new year means a new round of elections, and that will include a primary election in February.

Wednesday at 5 p.m. was the deadline for filing papers to run in the April 2 general election and there will be a statewide primary ballot before that.

There will also be one primary race for the Plymouth City Council. The primary will be held Tuesday, Feb. 19.

Three candidates filed to run for the 2nd District seat, on Plymouth's northeast side, on the City Council now held by Jay Reilly.

Reilly, who was unopposed when he won the seat in 2011, will be challenged by Camisha Anne Miller, 243 North St., and John Nelson, 711 Torke Terrace.

The top two vote-getters in the February primary will advance to the April general election to vie for a two-year term on the council.

There will be one other council race on the April ballot.

In the 3rd District on the city's southeast side, incumbent Jim Faller is being challenged by a former colleague on the council, Jack Fernsler.

Fernsler had represented the 1st District on the council until he resigned at the end of 2011 after moving out of the district. Now he is seeking to return to the council and is running against Faller in his new district.

Two other incumbent council members – David Williams in the 1st District and Charles Hansen in the 4th District – will have no opposition in the April election.

The statewide primary will be for a seat on the state Supreme Court.

Incumbent Justice Patience “Pat” Roggensack faces two challengers in her bid for another term on the state's highest court – Marquette University law professor Ed Fallone and trail attorney Vince Megna of Menomonee Falls.

Although the Supreme Court race is offi cially non-partisan, elections for the state's highest court have proven to be bitter, costly and hotly-contested over the past several years, reflecting a split on the court itself between conservative and liberal justices.

The top two finishers in the February primary will square off in the April election.

Incumbent State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Evers, a native of Plymouth, is being challenged by state Rep. Don Pridemore, R-Hartford, for that post in the April election.

In other local elections, incumbents will be facing no opposition in April.

Plymouth School Board incumbents John Klemme in area A (representing the city of Plymouth), Sally Isely in area B (representing the area outside the city of Plymouth) and Tim St. Clair in area C (representing the district as a whole) are all without opposition in their bids for another three-year term.

While candidates for the School Board seats must reside in the area covered by that particular seat, residents of the district can vote for all seats regardless of where they live.

Two incumbents on the Elkhart Lake- Glenbeulah School Board, Keith Ruh and Matthew Waage, are unopposed in their bids for re-election.

Incumbent Village President Alan Rudnick and incumbent trustees Richard Baumann, Richard Sadiq and Michael Wolf are all unopposed in the village of Elkhart Lake.

There will also be no contests in the town of Plymouth, where incumbent Chairman Jim Lubach, supervisors Ray Gremminger and Glenn Kruschke, and constables Warren Kalk and John Laack, are all running unopposed for re-election.

Most recent cover pages:

Copyright 2009-2018 The Plymouth Review, All Rights Reserved

Contact Information

113 E. Mill St., Plymouth WI 53073
Local: 920-893-6411 Toll Free: 1-877-467-6591
Fax: 920-893-5505

Invigoration Waters