Glenbeulah’s Melis wins caution-filled Sprint race

by Amy Juech Special to The Review

PLYMOUTH — After a rainedshortened program the previous week, a full night of Plymouth Dirt Track Racing was held Saturday night.

The 360 Sprints were first up, with 23 cars rolling trackside after a cancellation of the B-Main. Danny Schlafer (Sussex) led lap one until being passed by Randy Sippel (Elkhart Lake) who led until the field was plagued with cautions.

Randy Walter (Cascade) spun in turn two, then broke one lap later and was unable to return. Schlafer took the lead back on the restart.

Tim Haddy (Waupun), Kyle Marten (Sheboygan Falls), Lee Schroeder (Plymouth) and Brian Johnson (Kewaskum) all tangled on the front stretch on a restart. Jim Melis (Glenbeulah) captured the lead on the final restart which brought the field to a green, white, checkered finish on lap 16 after hitting time limit.

Schlafer finished second, followed in order by Brandon Mc- Mullen (Plymouth), Ken Jay Fiedler (Sheboygan Falls) and Justin Miller (Plymouth).

The Grand Nationals were up next and the first few rows consisted of some experienced contenders. Pole leader Mark Fieber (Cascade) led lap one over Don Sorce Jr. (West Allis), only to realign after Scott Houpt (Belgium) and James Pagel (St. Cloud) collide in turn four.

Kevin Lubach (Elkhart Lake) was black-flagged. Dick Hed and Paul Perronne (both of Plymouth) retired to the pits with mechanical issues.

Mark Fieber set a pretty hefty pace with good reason. He had Don Sorce Jr. and Dan Sorce Sr. on his bumper, itching to pass. Brad Lubach battled high and low in his journey to pass Dan Sorce Sr.

Aaron Hauck (Plymouth) started 19th and was in the top 10 already. Brad Lubach passed Don Sorce Jr. for second with two laps remaining.

Fieber took home the checkered after leading all 25 laps. Fieber had his first clean sweep this season as he also won his heat earlier. Rounding out the top five were Brad Lubach, Don Sorce Jr., Matt Jackson (Sheboygan), and Dan Sorce Sr., respectively.

Sixteen cars started the Late Models feature. The pole position was held by Aaron Bennett (Appleton) who led two laps until being passed by Jim Letizia (Milwaukee).

After debris brought out the first caution, Justin Hirt (Tigerton) jumped into second by lap six, after starting seventh. Eric Michaels (Cleveland) retired to the pits with Tim Bennet.

Tim Buhler (Glenbeulah) swapped positions with Justin Hirt. Hirt succeeds in lap 15 – taking over the lead from Jim Letizia.

A few cars collide in turn two and a red comes out for Cody Eickberg (Plymouth) after getting his hand stuck in his steering wheel. On the last restart, Russ Scheffler (Waukesha) challenges Buhler to take over second.

Hirt tries to gain a larger lead by putting lapped cars between himself and Russ Scheffler. When the checkers flew, Justin Hirt wins his first PDTR feature , followed in order by Russ Scheffler, Rick Scheffler, Buhler and Brad Mueller (Random Lake).

The Outlaw Compacts are the last main event of the evening. Travis Arenz, who started second, took an early lead. Brian Chiminatti (Manitowoc) and Patrick Ciske (Sheboygan Falls) both exited on lap three with mechanical issues.

Donnie Welch (Saukville) was back after flipping two weeks ago and battled Brandon Frank (Sheboygan) for second. Jeff Brendel (Sheboygan) and Mike Schultz (Sheboygan Falls) also retired to the pits.

Arenz would put distance on the field as he started to lap traffic. Arenz went on to win his third feature of the year, followed by Brandon Frank, Welch, Justin Erickson (Plymouth) and Jonathon Otte (Cedar Grove), respectively.

Most recent cover pages:

Copyright 2009-2018 The Plymouth Review, All Rights Reserved

Contact Information

113 E. Mill St., Plymouth WI 53073
Local: 920-893-6411 Toll Free: 1-877-467-6591
Fax: 920-893-5505