Ballot set for April election

by Emmitt B. Feldner of The Review staff

There will be no election contests for the Plymouth City Council April 1, but there will be two new faces on the council after the election.

Voters in the County Board 2nd Supervisory district on the far northeast side of the city of Sheboygan will be the only ones in the county who will have a primary election Tuesday, Feb. 18.

Tuesday at 5 p.m. was the deadline for filing nomination papers for county, city, town and village elections, although some school districts extended the deadline for School Board papers to Wednesday at 5 p.m. after schools were closed Monday and Tuesday due to the cold weather.

At least one new member of the Plymouth City Council was assured when incumbent 1st District Alderperson John Anderson died last month, but the 3rd District will also have a new representative on the council after the April election.

Incumbent 3rd District Alderperson Jackie Jarvis is not running for re-election after serving two terms on the council. Former Alderperson James Faller was the only candidate to file for the open seat representing the south and southeast sides of the city.

Greg Hildebrand was the only candidate to file papers in the 1st District on the city’s northwest side.

Other city incumbents nd– Mayor Donald Pohlman, 2 District Alderperson Jim Sedlacek and 4th District Alderperson Shawn Marcom – will be running unopposed in April.

Voters will be facing choices in six out of 25 County Board supervisory district, including one three-way race in the city of Sheboygan which will require the only Feb. 18 primary in the county.

Incumbent Fay Uraynar – who was appointed to the board last May – ndwill face two challengers in the 2 Supervisory District – Ronald F. Mueller, a former supervisor, and Charles B. Windsor.

One district – the th19 in the city of Sheboygan Falls – will have a new representative on the County Board, as incumbent Michael Ogea chose not to run for re-election.

His wife, Elizabeth Ogea, will square off in the April election against former supervisor John Raml, who lost to Michael Ogea in 2012 after the two were forced to run against each other after the board was reduced to 25 members from 34.

In the 18th District, which includes parts of the city and town of Sheboygan Falls, voters will see a rematch of the 2012 election, with Sheboygan Falls Town Chairman Steven Bauer challenging incumbent Supervisor Peggy Feider. Feider prevailed over Bauer’s challenge in 2012.

Long-time Supervisor Jim Baumgart will face challenger Jerry Doyle in the 5th District in the city of Sheboygan.

There will be two other County Board races outside the city of Sheboygan.

In the 12th District, which includes the town of Mosel and parts of the towns of Herman and Sheboygan, Robert Ziegelbauer is challenging incumbent Peter Salm.

Former County Board chairman William Goehring is being challenged by Robert Boehlke in the 24th District, which includes the towns of Scott and Sherman and the villages of Adell and Random Lake.

Voters in the Plymouth School District will be faced with one choice in two races for the School Board.

Incumbent area B member Sally Isely, representing the area outside the city of Plymouth, is running unopposed.

An opening was created for the area A seat, representing the city of Plymouth, when Board President Mark Rhyan died last month.

Two candidates – Jamie Klemme-Gambrell and Camisha Miller – filed to run for that seat.

Voters from anywhere in the district may vote for both seats.

Two incumbents on the Elkhart Lake-Glenbeulah School Board – Scott Heinig and Joel Schuller – are the only candidates for two openings there.

Incumbent Howards Grove School Board member Jeff Elzinga will not run for re-election. Nate Dehne was the only candidate to file for the open seat.

There are only two candidates for three open seats on the Howards Grove Village Board. Incumbents Lee Kunze and Henry Verfuerth filed to run for re-election, but incumbent Dale Wuestenhagen did not file papers to run for re-election, and no other candidate filed to run.

In the village of Elkhart Lake, incumbents Pam Garton, Steve Kapellen and Lynn Shovan will be unopposed for three open seats on the Village Board.

In the town of Plymouth, incumbents Gene Blindauer and Roger Rortvedt will have no opposition in their bid for re-election.

Incumbent District 2 Court of Appeals Judge Lisa S. Neubauer is unopposed for re-election.

Most recent cover pages:

Copyright 2009-2019 The Plymouth Review, All Rights Reserved

Contact Information

113 E. Mill St., Plymouth WI 53073
Local: 920-893-6411 Toll Free: 1-877-467-6591
Fax: 920-893-5505

Meals with Marge

Lakeshore Galleries