Voters have choices to make Tuesday

by Emmitt B. Feldner of The Review staff

The biggest races are in Sheboygan Falls, but voters throughout the county will face decisions in next Tuesday’s spring general election.

In addition to a $27.6 million school building referendum, voters in the city of Sheboygan Falls have contests for mayor and two of three City Council seats on Tuesday’s ballot, along with a choice among three candidates for two School Board positions.

In Plymouth, the only contested race is for one seat on the School Board.

All seats on the Sheboygan County Board will be filled by voters, although there will be contests for only four seats – two in the city of Sheboygan, one in Sheboygan Falls and one in the city and town of Sheboygan Falls.

Incumbent Supervisor Peggy Feider is being challenged by Sheboygan Falls Town Chairman Steven Bauer in the 18th District, which includes two wards in the town and four in the city of Sheboygan Falls.

Libby Ogea and John Raml are vying for the 19th District seat, representing five wards in the city of Sheboygan Falls. Ogea is the daughter of current Supervisor Michael Ogea, who is not running for re-election, while Raml is a former County Board member who lost his seat two years ago to Mi- chael Ogea in the board’s reduct i o n from 34 to 25 mem- bers.

Two incumbent city of Sheboygan supervisors – Fay Uraynar in the 2nd District and Jim Baumgart in the 5th District – are being challenged by Charles Windsor in the 2nd District and Jerry Doyle in the 5th District.

There are no contested races for Plymouth city government, although there will be one new member of the City Council following Tuesday’s election.

Former Alderperson Jim Faller is the only candidate for the 3rd District seat now held by Jackie Jarvis. In the 1st District, Greg Hildebrand was appointed by the council to fill the seat vacated by the death of John Anderson last December after he was the only candidate to file for the April election.

Incumbent Mayor Donald Pohlman and council members Jim Sedlacek (2nd District) and Shawn Marcom (4th District) are unopposed for re-election.

Another death in December, of former Plymouth School Board President Mark Rhyan, created an open Area A seat for the board. Jamie K l - emme Gambrell and Camisha Miller are both running for the seat representing the city of Plymouth.

Sally Isely is unopposed for the area B seat representing the area of the district outside the city of Plymouth. Voters from anywhere in the district may vote for both seats.

Town and village posts will also be on Tuesday’s ballot, with very few contested elections.

In the town of Mitchell, incumbents Dennis Born and Bob Rementer are being challenged by David Schuh for two seats on the Town Board.

Incumbents Brian Hoffmann and Daniel Rostollan and challengers Michael Bergin and Nancy DesJardins are vying for two seats on the Wilson Town Board.

Kim Peterson is the only incumbent among five candidates for three seats on the Adell Village Board. The other candidates are Jim Jentsch, Brian Parr, Bianca Schneider and Jane Schneider.

In the village of Kohler, challenger Michael Zimmermann joins incumbents Brett Edgerle, Susan Jaberg and John Pethan in the race for three positions on the Village Board.

Voters in the Sheboygan Falls School District will be deciding two referenda. One would authorize the district to borrow $27.6 million to build a new middle school and make other expansions and improvements, while the other would approve construction of a $2.6 million auditorium in the new middle school.

In the town of Sheboygan Falls, voters are being asked in a referendum whether the town should borrow $1.125 million to help purchase new fire trucks for the the Town of Sheboygan Falls and the Johnsonville fire departments.

Several choices face voters in the city of Sheboygan Falls, including for mayor between incumbent Randy Meyer and challenger Alderman Dan Krueger. Two of three City Council seats on the ballot are contested, with Peter Weber challenging incumbent Randy Messner in the 2nd District and incumbent Dawn Beimel squaring off against challenger Robert Spatz in the 3rd District.

Polling places open at 7 a.m. Tuesday and remain open until 8 p.m. A complete list of polling places throughout the county, as well as candidates for all offices, are in the sample ballot special section in today’s Review.

Most recent cover pages:

POLL: Do you think Elkhart Lake made the right decision in not allowing Strawberry the pot-bellied pig?:

Copyright 2009-2018 The Plymouth Review, All Rights Reserved

Contact Information

113 E. Mill St., Plymouth WI 53073
Local: 920-893-6411 Toll Free: 1-877-467-6591
Fax: 920-893-5505