Random Lake’s Mueller wins Late Model feature

by Amy Juech Special to The Review

BRAD MUELLER (89) of Random Lake and Russ Scheffler, Waukesha, battle in the lead in the Late Model feature race Saturday at the Plymouth Dirt Track. Mueller finished first and Scheffler, third. — Photo by RC Custom Design BRAD MUELLER (89) of Random Lake and Russ Scheffler, Waukesha, battle in the lead in the Late Model feature race Saturday at the Plymouth Dirt Track. Mueller finished first and Scheffler, third. — Photo by RC Custom Design PLYMOUTH – Vintage stock cars were parked behind the grandstands for spectators’ enjoyment and Plymouth Dirt Track Racing recognized past champions during intermission at Saturday night’s program.

The Late Models rumbled out first with Russ Scheffler and Tim Buhler setting the pace for 25 laps. Scheffler shot out into the lead over Buhler while Brad Mueller was trying to hold off Mitch Mc- Grath for third.

Buhler was passed a few laps in by Mueller on the outside. Eric Michaels left to the attention of his pit crew and was unable to return. Mueller then put his sights on Scheffler for the lead and passed him on the outside on lap 13.

McGrath caught Scheffler and looked to his inside before Scheffler charged back into second. On lap 20 Mueller is working his way past lapped traffic, allowing Mc- Grath to slide past Scheffler for second.

Crossing the first with a clean sweep for the evening was Mueller (Random Lake) who also won his heat. A few car lengths back was Mitch McGrath (Waukesha), followed in order by Russ Scheffler (Waukesha), Jim Schmidt (Cleveland) and Tim Buhler (Glenbeulah).

Leading the field to the green in the Grand National division were Dan Sorce and Roger Lee. Dan Sorce managed to hold off Lee and led lap one, followed by his brother Don Sorce Jr.

James Pagel lost his battle over eighth position to Kevin Lubach. Jonathon Singer left to the attention of his crew, unable to return.

Dan Sorce continued to pull away from the field and at the halfway point he had a front- stretch lead. Caution for Tim Simon and Aaron Stolp realigned the field for a final restart.

A rocket-fast Dan Sorce held onto the lead over brother Don, while Lee had his hands full trying to hold off Luke Scholten who was driving for Scott Houpt.

Tyler Kulow left to the attention of his crew for a flat tire. Kevin Lubach slid past Steven Weber to take over sixth.

Don Sorce Jr. (West Allis) fell second to brother Dan Sorce (Franklin) as the double checkers waved, followed in order by Lee (Windlake), Scholten and Jeff Lammers (Plymouth).

The Sprint Cars were pushed off next, competing for an increased purse. The front row consisted of Paul Pokorski and Jim Melis.

On the green flag Todd King got a little crossed up – hopping the infield tires and cutting through the infield between turns one and two.

Pokorski controlled the field for lap one of 30 with Shane Wenninger behind. Brandon McMullen worked his way around Kyle Martin.

Pokorski guided the field until the only caution waved for Rusty Egan having trouble on the backstretch and retiring to the pits for the evening.

Wenninger took control of the field on lap 13 and Goeden was in hot pursuit. Lap 20 Goeden caught Wenninger and were side-by-side until Goeden skillfully passed on the outside for the lead.

Kurt Davis finally managed to sneak past Josh Walters for the sixth position. Donny Goeden (Kewaskum) crossed the checkers first, making it two in a row. Shane Wenninger (Kewaskum) finished second, followed by Pokorski (West Bend), Travis Luedke

(Plymouth) and Tim Haddy (Waupun), respectively.

The Outlaw Compacts rolled track-side next with Donny Welch and Brody Rivst leading the field to the green.

Scott Schlafke battled with Rivst until passing to take over the lead. Mark Kufuss, driving for Jonathon Otte, passed James Rautmann for fifth place.

Cody Pankow retired to the pits with mechanical issues. Schlafke reeled in lapped traffic, trying to keep Rivst at bay. Coming to the white-flag lap, Brody broke his back tire off and continued on.

Crossing the checkers first was Schlafke (Cleveland). Finishing second was Chris Maas (Oakfield), followed in order by Rivst (Sheboygan), Justin Erickson

(Plymouth) and Mark Kufuss (Sheboygan).

Leroy Ostrowski and Butchie Hafemann led the Super Modifieds to the green flag. Ostrowski’s lead was short lived when Hafemann passed him to lead lap two.

Ostrowski rallied back to take control and lead lap three. Johnny Fahl motored past Hafemann for second with Dennis Klumb in tow.

As the checkers flew it was Ostrowski crossing first, followed in order by Johnny Fahl (Brown Deer), Klumb (Adell), Hafemann (Campbellsport), Bill Lemkuil (Waldo) and Roy Stern (Hustisford).

Join us this Saturday for a full PDTR program and an extra purse for the Grand Nationals. For more information, visit www.plymouthpdtr.com.

Most recent cover pages:

Copyright 2009-2018 The Plymouth Review, All Rights Reserved

Contact Information

113 E. Mill St., Plymouth WI 53073
Local: 920-893-6411 Toll Free: 1-877-467-6591
Fax: 920-893-5505