Primary needed for spring election

by Emmitt B. Feldner of The Review staff

Voters countywide will be heading to the polls twice this spring – for the general election Tuesday, April 7, and for a primary election Tuesday, Feb. 17.

The primary was assured when three candidates filed for a vacancy on the Sheboygan County Circuit Court bench.

Also, voters in the towns of Greenbush, Lyndon, Mitchell, Russell and Scott will have a choice to make for a Republican candidate for the 20th State Senate District.

Elsewhere, voters in the town of Plymouth will have a race to settle for two Town Board seats, while Howards Grove village voters have a contest for village president but only one candidate for three seats on the Village Board.

There is one statewide race on the April ballot, for a seat on the state Supreme Court. Incumbent Justice Ann Walsh Bradley of Wausau is being challenged by James P. Daley of Janesville.

Judge Terrence T. Bourke is not running for re-election to Sheboygan County Circuit Court Branch IV judge and three candidates have filed for the seat.

They are Sheboygan County Circuit Court Commissioner Rebecca

Persick, city of Sheboygan/ village of Kohler Municipal Judge Catherine Delahunt and city of Plymouth Municipal Judge Matthew Mooney.

The top two vote-getters in the February primary will advance to the April 7 general election.

Three Republican candidates have been certified by the state Government Accountability Board for the vacant 20th State Senate seat, forcing a primary in February.

The vacancy was created when State Sen. Glenn Grothman won election in the 6th Congressional District race last November.

The three Republicans who will be on the February primary ballot are Tiffany Koehler of Slinger, Lee Schlenvogt of Port Washington and Duey Stroebel of Saukville.

Stroebel, a state assemblyman, lost in the Republican Congressional primary last year to Grothman, while Koehler ran unsuccessfully for the Republican nomination in the 58th Assembly District last year. Schlenvogt is chairman of the Ozaukee County Board of Supervisors.

Another potential Republican candidate, Fred Utecht of Belgium, had his ballot status denied by the GAB.

In the town of Plymouth, incumbent supervisors Ray Gremminger and Glenn Kruschke will be joined on the April ballot by John Capelle and Jack Hanke in the race for two open Town Board seats.

Town Chairman Jim Lubach is not running for re-election and Warren Luedke is the only candidate for the position. Constables Warren Kalk and John Laack are unopposed for re-election.

Incumbent Howards Grove Village President James Scheiber is being challenged by Trustee Ed Pahl Jr.

Pahl is also the only candidate to file for three open seats on the Village Board. The other two seats are being vacated by Mike Stoeckigt, who has moved out of the village, and Jeff Plass, who is not running for re-election.

Four Plymouth City Council incumbents – David Williams in the 1st District, John Nelson in the 2nd District, Jack Fernsler in the 3rd District and Charles Hansen in the 4th District – are all unopposed for re-election. Incumbent Municipal Court Judge Matthew Mooney is unopposed for re-election as well.

Incumbents are also unopposed in the village of Elkhart Lake.

In Elkhart Lake, Village President Alan Rudnick and Trustees Richard Baumann, Richard Sadiq and Michael Wolf are all unopposed, while Howards Grove Village President Jim Scheiber and Trustees Ed Pahl Jr., Jeff Plass and Mike Stoeckigt have no opposition.

Two Plymouth School Board members – Richard York from area A (city of Plymouth resident) and Pam Holzhaeuser from area B (resident from outside the city of Plymouth) – are both unopposed. Although candidates for each seat are limited by where they reside, residents of the entire district can vote for each seat.

Elkhart Lake-Glenbeulah School Board incumbents Jim Henschel, Mike Meeusen and Kim Viglietti are unopposed for re-election, as are Howards Grove School Board incumbents Mark DeAmico and Richard Pearce.

Most recent cover pages:

With Giannis Antetokounmpo in the NBA All-Star Game Sunday ...:

Copyright 2009-2019 The Plymouth Review, All Rights Reserved

Contact Information

113 E. Mill St., Plymouth WI 53073
Local: 920-893-6411 Toll Free: 1-877-467-6591
Fax: 920-893-5505

Wilderness Journal

Heidenreither Bus Service