Primary vote set for Tuesday

by Emmitt B. Feldner and Jeff Pederson of The Review staff

Voters in Sheboygan County will go to the polls Tuesday in a primary election to narrow the field of candidates for Sheboygan County Circuit Court Branch IV.

There will also be primaries in the city of Sheboygan Falls, village of Random Lake and town of Wilson, as well as in the portion of the county in the 20th State Senate district.

Incumbent Branch IV Judge Terence Bourke is not running for reelection.

Three candidates filed to run for the open seat and voters Tuesday will narrow the choice to two candidates for the April 7 general election.

The candidates are Sheboygan/Kohler Municipal Judge Catherine Delahunt (, Plymouth Municipal Judge Matthew Mooney ( and Sheboygan County Court Commissioner Rebecca Persick (

Voters in the towns of Greenbush, Lyndon, Mitchell, Russell and Scott and the villages of Cascade and Waldo will have a Republican primary for the 20th State Senate seat vacated when Glenn Grothman was elected to Congess last fall.

The three Republicans on the primary ballot are Tiffany Koehler of Slinger (, Lee Schlenvogt of Port Washington ( and Duey Stroebel of Saukville (

Stroebel, a state assemblyman, lost in the Republican Congressional primary last year to Grothman, while Koehler ran unsuccessfully for the Republican nomination in the 58th Assembly District last year. Schlenvogt is chairman of the Ozaukee County Board of Supervisors.

In the city of Sheboygan Falls, there will be a primary election for the District 2 aldermanic seat on the Sheboygan Falls Common Council featuring three candidates vying for two available spots on the spring election ballot.

Two former city of Sheboygan Falls aldermen, Thomas McCue and John Raml, along with newcomer Peter Weber will be squaring off with the top two vote getters earning spots in the April 7 spring election.

The District 2 seat is currently held by Alderman Dan Krueger, who is not seeking re-election.

McCue has served two separate stints on the council from 1995-97 and 2007-2011. Krueger defeated McCue to earn the District 2 aldermanic seat in the spring 2011 election.

Raml is also making another bid for public office after formerly serving on the Sheboygan Falls Common Council for four years in the late 1990s.

He also has six years of experience on the Sheboygan Falls School Board and two years of public service as a Sheboygan County Board supervisor.

After losing to District 2 Alderman Randy Messner last April, Weber is set to make another run for a Common Council seat this year.

Random Lake voters have a choice of three candidates for the position of village president. Incumbent Bob McDermott is being challenged by two aldermen, Robert Siebenaler and Matthew Brockmeier. The top two vote-getters Tuesday will advance to the April 7 ballot.

Five candidates are vying for two open seats on the Wilson Town Board and one will be eliminated in Tuesday’s primary voting.

The candidates are Michael Bergin, John Ehmann, Brian Hoffmann, Thomas Kultgen and Tom Stoelb.

Polls throughout the county will be open for voting in the primary from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

A complete list of polling places in the county, along with copies of sample ballots for the Tuesday primary election, are included in the special primary election section inserted in today’s Review.

Most recent cover pages:

With Giannis Antetokounmpo in the NBA All-Star Game Sunday ...:

Copyright 2009-2019 The Plymouth Review, All Rights Reserved

Contact Information

113 E. Mill St., Plymouth WI 53073
Local: 920-893-6411 Toll Free: 1-877-467-6591
Fax: 920-893-5505