PHS teams look to contend for EWC titles

by Greg Ceilley

PLYMOUTH – The Plymouth boys and girls track teams have a bright outlook as they will be looking to improve throughout the season and be in contention for Eastern Wisconsin Conference championships.

The Panthers have a large boys squad with 70 athletes, including 14 returning letter winners, but lost several big pointproducers from last year’s team which won its fourth straight EWC title.

The girls team is 51-strong, including 19 letter winners back from the 2014 EWC runner-up.


The top returning athletes for the Panthers include: Dominic Bocchini (mid-distance), Evan Sebranek (sprints), Brent Thiel (mid-distance), Zach Albers (hurdles), Samuel Staehling (sprints), Jake Schneider (sprints), Ian McConnaha (distance), Max Schermacher (pole vault), Gavin Falk (jumps) and Cody Kuhn (jumps).

Bocchini, a senior, competed in the 1,600-meter relay at last year’s Division 1 state meet. Bocchini, Schneider and Staehling were on the sectional-qualifying 800 relay. In the EWC championship meet, Sebranek, Staehling and Schneider ran on the winning 400 relay team, and Bocchini and Sebranek were members of the first-place 800 relay.

“Our large team should help us find some quality runners and field event people. With only 14 returning letter winners, we have something to work with but we need to fill some holes and add depth to all our events to be real competitive,” said PHS head coach Jay Grosshuesch who enters his 18th season at the helm.

“We have a very large group of juniors and freshmen. We are hoping that the juniors can step up their level of effectiveness to score some quality points at the varsity. It would also be a huge bonus for our team if we could find several freshmen to fill some holes we will have at the varsity level.”

“Our sprint group will be one of our deepest and strongest areas, anchored by Samuel Staehling, Evan Sebranek and Jake Schneider,” Grosshuesch noted.

Our mid-distance group will be another strength in our team with Dominic Bocchini, Noah Joseph, Aiden Woida, Jordan Marshall and Brent Theil. These athletes will need some help to cover the 400, 800 and longer relays.

“In the jumps, we expect Cody Kuhn, Gavin Falk and Samuel Staehling to build on their strong season in these events last year. Max Schermacher and Alex Schmidt really improved in the pole vault last year, so we are excited to see what they can do this year,” said the coach.

Grosshuesch said the distance group is a bit thin but has the potential to become a strength.

“Like the girls team, our main goal is to have each boy work hard and improve as an individual. If that happens our team will get better and we will end the season satisfied with our results,” he said.

“Our team success will depend on how strong our No. 1 athlete in each event can be and then how well our second-tier guys develop. Our very large freshmen class is athletic and hard working, so hopefully we can get some help from them by season’s end.”

Boys and Girls
April 14 – EWC Quadrangular, here
April 21 – EWC Quad., @ Sheb. Falls
April 24 – @ Omro Invitational
April 28 – EWC Quad., @ Two Rivers
May 1 – @ Pewaukee Invitational
May 5 – EWC Quadrangular, here
May 8 – Vanderpan Invite, @ S. Falls
May 12 – EWC Relays, @ Kewaskum
May 14 – JV Invitational, here
May 19 – EWC Meet, here
May 21 – EWC Fr./Soph. Meet, @ SF
May 26 – Regional, here
May 29 – Sectional, @ Beaver Dam
June 5 – State Meet, @ UW-La Crosse
June 6 – State Meet, @ UW-La Crosse



Seniors – *Dominic Bochhini, Thomas Casado, Leon Gehri, Alexander Kujala, Austin Ramminger, *Evan Sebranek and Brent Thiel.

Juniors – *Zach Albers, Kyle Birenbaum, Dan Christensen, Jeremy Crump, Nick Freund, *Corby Gafney, Jesus Guzman, Max Haun, JJ Haupt, *Noah Joseph, Ethan Kaat, Evan Landry, Adam LaVine, *Jordan Marshall, Ian McConnaha, Mitch Meyer, Ryan Nygaard, Ben Pierce, *Max Schermacher, Alex Schmidt, *Jake Schneider, Eric Schoeneman, *Samuel Staehling and Aiden Woida.

Sophomores – Jack Benedict, Drew Boening, *Joe Chandler, *Gavin Falk, Ethan Fleck, Saunders Gentine, Philip Kirk, Matt Klas, *Cody Kuhn, Tyler Luedtke, Ben Nichols, Alan Schaefer, *Jake Steinhardt, Zach Strehlow, Har- rison Strutz and Jeremiah Wodarczak.

Freshmen – Ty Brink, Jon Brisson, Nicholas Broder, Noah DeSmidt, Nathan Francis, Korey Freiderichs, Mason Guell, Gabe Haun, Connor Joseph, Alex Kelly, Aidan Maki, Mackade Mella, Sam Miller, Derek Novotny, Gabe Olsen, Garrison Pierce, Holden Reilly, Cole Rogers, Ben Schaefers, Jaxsen Schermacher, Connor Schmidt, Luke Schneider, Brady Schultz, Kyle Schwibinger, Adam Smith and Ian Williams.


Seniors – *Mary Albert, *Jonell Klopf, *Brooke Koehn, *Julia Novotny, Rieke Ohlsen, Emilie Pedersen, Anya Popora, *Maddie Strutz and *Claire Wichert.

Juniors – Mary Addy, *Nicki Bartzen, *Elizabeth Baus, *Sophie Bolich, Meredith Grimes, *Lindsey Karczewski, Morgan Kitzerow, *Karly Knaus, *Kyra Kronberg, *Kayla Lentz, *Morgan Lisowe, Hayley Mueller, Jenna Musiedlak, Taylor Orleans, Catherine Schalk and Emily Schmitt.

Sophomores – *Sophie Albert, Helen Baus, Megan Birenbaum, *Emma Grapentine, Katie Grimm, Grace Huibregtse, Taylor Kurtz, Gwen Nytes, *Allison Pieper, Maria Ryan, Theresa Schramm, Jamie Schultz, *Abi Smrz and *Margeaux Suttner.

Freshmen – Elizabeth Benicke, Erica Birenbaum, Hanna Eigenberger, Caitlyn Hefter, Madison Hilbelink, Luci Hoitink, Ahlena Kranenberg, Emily LaVine, Samantha Loose, Courtney Perl, Tara Spring, Lexie Timm and Ashley Uribe,

* = Returning letter winner.

Most recent cover pages:

POLL: Do you think Elkhart Lake made the right decision in not allowing Strawberry the pot-bellied pig?:

Copyright 2009-2018 The Plymouth Review, All Rights Reserved

Contact Information

113 E. Mill St., Plymouth WI 53073
Local: 920-893-6411 Toll Free: 1-877-467-6591
Fax: 920-893-5505

Falls Title