Persick overwhelms Delahunt in judge race

by Jeff Pederson of The Review staff

REBECCA PERSICK, Sheboygan County Court Commissioner, defeated Sheboygan/Kohler Municipal Court Judge Catherine Delahunt to earn a six-year term as Sheboygan County Circuit Court Branch 4 judge in the spring general election Tuesday, April 7. - Submitted photo REBECCA PERSICK, Sheboygan County Court Commissioner, defeated Sheboygan/Kohler Municipal Court Judge Catherine Delahunt to earn a six-year term as Sheboygan County Circuit Court Branch 4 judge in the spring general election Tuesday, April 7. - Submitted photo Sheboygan County Court Commissioner Rebecca Persick edged out Sheboygan/Kohler Municipal Judge Catherine Delahunt to earn a six-year term in the Sheboygan County Circuit Court Branch 4 judge’s chair, during the 2015 spring general election Tuesday, April 7.

Persick collected 62 percent of the countywide vote, tallying 11,462 total votes, while Delahunt captured 6,947 votes, or 37 percent of the total vote.

Delahunt and Persick, who emerged from a three-way primary in February, waged a spirited campaign over the past two months featuring heavy advertising and numerous endorsement announcements.

The Branch 4 judge vacancy was created when current judge Terrence Bourke declined to run for re-election.

In another hotly contested judge’s race, incumbent Wisconsin Supreme Court Judge Ann Walsh Bradley fended off a challenge from Rock County Circuit Court Judge James P. Daley to earn a 10- year term.

Statewide, Walsh tallied 468,085 votes (58 percent), while Daley picked up 338,564 votes (42 percent).

In Sheboygan County, Walsh topped Daley by a 9,421 to 8,856 vote margin.

The spring general election included open positions in every city, town and village in the Sheboygan County, along with local school boards.

However, many of those races were uncontested.

Three contested Town Board races were featured in the town of Plymouth, town of Wilson and town of Scott.

In the town of Plymouth, challenger Jack Hanke and incumber Supervisor Glen Kruschke earned election to the Plymouth Town Board.

Hanke topped the four-candidate field with 323 votes, with Kruschke coming in second with 294.

Challenger John Capelle placed third with 203 votes and incumbent Supervisor Ray Gremminger was fourth with 196 votes.

Town of Wilson Chairman David Gartman lost his bid for reelection, as Kohler Credit Union CFO John Ehmann won the seat with 680 votes. Gartman wound up with 550 votes.

Two open town supervisor seats in the town of Wilson went to Sheboygan County Supervisor Brian Hoffman, who picked up 589 votes and Tom Stoelb, who finished one vote behind in second with 588.

Ehmann was third with 558 votes and Thomas Kultgen place fourth with 484 votes.

In the town of Scott, Dale Burke (201 votes) and Larry Laux (172 votes) earned seats on the Scott Town Board. Kenneth C. Willkomm placed third in the race with 149 votes.

Incumbent Howards Grove Village President James Scheiber edged incumbent Trustee Ed Pahl 344 to 132 to win re-election.

However, Pahl was re-elected to the Howards Grove Village Board as the lone candidate running for three open seats with 409 votes.

Incumbent trustees Brian Post and Charles Keller, along with newcomer Mike Zimmerman were elected to three open seats on the Kohler Village Board.

Post topped the four-candidate field with 347 votes, followed by Keller in second with 345 and Zimmerman in third with 314.

Incumbent Trustee Bill Kunst finished fourth with 302 votes.

Incumbent trustees Andrew Birenbaum (73 votes), John Brent (64 votes) and Arush Chahal (53 votes) were each re-elected to the three open seats on the Adell Village Board. Newcomer Jim Jentsch finished fourth with 44 votes.

In the village of Oostburg, incumbent trustees Steve Eggebeen (463 votes) and Brian Hilbelink (400 votes) earned re-election, along with newcomer Peter Scheppmann, who collected 389 votes. Incumbent Trustee Glenn Wynveen finished fourth with 363 votes.

Random Lake Village Board Trustee Matthew Brockmeier defeated incumbent Village President Bob McDermott 229 to 216 in race for Random Lake Village President.

The three open seats on the Random Lake Village Board went to challenger Eric Stowell (319 votes), incumbent Trustee Barbara Ruege (312 votes) and incumbent Trustee Elizabeth Manian (290 votes). Challenger Michael San Felippo finished fourth with 224 votes.

In the city of Sheboygan Falls newcomer Al Mayer topped incumbent Alderwoman Anne Krauter 440-185 to win election to the 1st District aldermanic seat.

In the 2ndDistrict aldermanic race, Peter Weber defeated former Alderman Thomas McCue 226- 187.

In the city of Sheboygan, challenge Joe E. Hou-Seye defeated incumbent Alderman Kevin Matichek 260-151 to secure the 4th District aldermanic seat.

Write-in candidates Matt Wierzbach (93 votes) and Ted Bingham (61 votes) finished third and fourth respectively.

In District 5 in the city of Sheboygan, Alderman Bill Thiel survived a challenge from former alderman Scott Lewandoske, taking 314 votes to Lewandoske’s 259.

Voters in the city of Plymouth had no contests for City Council, as all four incumbents – David Williams in the 1st District, John Nelson in the 2nd District, Jack Fernsler in the 3rd District and Charles Hansen in the 4th District secured new terms after running unopposed.

Incumbent Mark Debbink (1,391 votes) and newcomer Adam Arnhoelter (975 votes) were elected to three-year terms on the Sheboygan Falls School Board. Newcomer Jami Shircel finished third with 956 votes.

Barbara Tuszynski (4,318 votes), Ryan Burg (3,722) and Mary Beth Martin (3,720) were each elected to the Sheboygan School Board. Peter Madden finished fourth with 3,428 votes and Denis Schmideler was fifth with 2,771 votes.

Voters in the Elkhart Lake- Glenbeulah School District approved a referendum to allow the district to exceed state revenue limits by $725,000 a year for four years for maintenance and other purposes by a margin of 736 to 339.

A statewide referendum asking voters to change how the court’s state Supreme Court Chief Justice should be selected to an election by all sitting members of the court every two years was approved by a total vote of 430,667 (53 percent) to 380,622 (47 percent).

The spring election drew a 28 percent voter turnout rate countywide, as 19,348 voters cast ballots out of a possible 69,245 registered voters.

Most recent cover pages:

POLL: Do you think Elkhart Lake made the right decision in not allowing Strawberry the pot-bellied pig?:

Copyright 2009-2018 The Plymouth Review, All Rights Reserved

Contact Information

113 E. Mill St., Plymouth WI 53073
Local: 920-893-6411 Toll Free: 1-877-467-6591
Fax: 920-893-5505

Plymouth High School Homecoming