LeMahieu resigns from board

County Board Supervisor Devin LeMahieu recently submitted a letter of resignation from his seat on the Sheboygan County Board effective April 30 so he can focus on his duties as a newly elected State Senator for District 9.

LeMahieu was first elected to the County Board in 2006 and has served on the Human Resources, Finance and Executive committees.

As chairman of the Human Resources Committee, LeMahieu provided strong leadership in negotiating fair labor agreements with county employees that contributed towards delivering a balanced budget and positioning the county for success.

Most recently, LeMahieu supported a comprehensive compensation study to be sure the county is able to attract and retain good employees. In addition, he helped contribute to the county’s strong fiscal track record, holding the line on property taxes, and purchasing the Amsterdam Dunes Wetland Mitigation Bank and Preservation Area located along Lake Michigan in the town of Holland.

County Administrator Adam Payne said in a press release announcing LeMahieu’s resignation, “Like his dad before him, it has been a pleasure getting to know Devin and I appreciate his years of public service and leadership on the County Board.”

County Board Chairman Roger Te Stroete, who was LeMahieu’s campaign treasurer during his run for the state Senate, stated, “Supervisor Le- Mahieu has been part of a strong team that has made, and continues to make, good things happen in Sheboygan County. We wish him the best and look forward to working with him in his new capacity as our state Senator.”

As a result of LeMahieu’s resignation, Te Stroete is seeking applications to fill the vacancy on the Sheboygan County Board of Supervisors for the remainder of a two-year term expiring April 18, 2016. The position is for District 21, which includes town of Wilson Wards 1 and 2 and the village of Oostburg.

A candidate for the office of supervisor must be a qualified elector and resident of the supervisory district. County Board members receive a base annual salary of $2,100. In addition, mileage reimbursement and a per diem are paid for County Board and committee meetings.

The County Board of Supervisors holds its regular monthly meeting on the third Tuesday of each month beginning at 6 p.m. at the Sheboygan County Courthouse. In addition, each board member serves on one or more of the following committees: Executive; Finance; Health and Human Services; Health Care Center; Human Resources; Law; Property; Transportation; or Planning, Resources, Agriculture and Extension.

The County Board Chairman makes the appointment of the supervisor, which is subject to the approval of the full County Board.

Applicants should send a letter of interest and brief resume to the attention of County Board Chairman Te Stroete at the Sheboygan County Administration Building, 508 New York Ave., Room 311, Sheboygan 53081. Applications must be received no later than 5 p.m. Monday, May 4.

For more information, please contact Chairman Te Stroete’s office at (920) 459-3103.

Most recent cover pages:

With Giannis Antetokounmpo in the NBA All-Star Game Sunday ...:

Copyright 2009-2019 The Plymouth Review, All Rights Reserved

Contact Information

113 E. Mill St., Plymouth WI 53073
Local: 920-893-6411 Toll Free: 1-877-467-6591
Fax: 920-893-5505

C&D Tax Service