Student News

Area apprentices were honored May 18 at Lakeshore Technical College’s annual Apprenticeship Completion Banquet held at Millhome Supper Club in Kiel.

The banquet recognized the completion of the paid-related classroom instruction for individuals in LTC’s apprenticeship programs. In these programs, workers earn while they learn the practical and theoretical aspects of highly skilled occupations. LTC’s registered apprentices are sponsored by employers and paid hourly wages to attend LTC in their specific trades.

The apprenticeship completers were recognized by keynote speaker, John Lukas, Vice President of LDI, Inc. in Manitowoc. Lukas is an active advocate for apprenticeship by serving on several committees, both locally and at the state, that center around apprenticeship and Lukas is a member of the State of Wisconsin Apprenticeship Consortium through the Department of Workforce Development.

Apprentices recognized — including their hometown, apprenticeship area and sponsoring employer — are:

Elkhart Lake

Jason Oleson, Industrial Electrician, Johnsonville Sausage LLC

Howards Grove

Trevor Wehrmann, Maintenance Technician, Curt G. Joa Inc. amping Company

Scott Paquette, Tool and Die Maker, KNM LLC

James Siebert, Maintenance Mechanic, Federal Mogul Power Train Systems

DeNean Stadelman, Machinist, Ariens Company

Tou Vang, Machinist


Andrew Karpinski, Industrial Electrician, Charter Steel

Steven Laehn, Industrial Electrician, Johnsonville Sausage LLC

Matthew Williams, Maintenance Technician Mechanical, Alliant Energy Edgewater


Lincoln Gregory, Tool and Die Maker, The Vollrath Company LLC

David Guillette, Mold Maker (Die Cast) (Plastic), Nemak

Charles Hattula, Industrial Electrician, Bemis Manufacturing Company

Timothy Popp, Millwright, Curt G. Joa Inc.

Pao Yang, Millwright, Plastics Engineering Company

Sheboygan Falls

Joshua Ewald, Sheet Metal Worker, Aldag Honold Mechanical Inc.

Matt Gaboda, Maintenance Technician Mechanical, Alliant Energy Edgewater

Branden Zinser, Machinist, Curt G. Joa Inc.


Roger Willoughby, Metal Model Maker, The Vollrath Company LLC

Youth apprenticeship*** offer students the opportunity to explore future careers while they are still in high school and get paid for their time working at area employers. Youth apprenticeship offers oneand two-year programs in fields like Health, Hotel and Hospitality, Culinary, Finance, Mechanical Design, Welding, and Manufacturing.

Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development Secretary Reggie Newson and Kohler Company Global Maintenance Processing Supervisor Robert Wells, addressed the estimated 270 guests for the evening.

Special recognition went to high school students John Boeckmann, of Elkhart Lake-Glenbeulah High School and Nick Steenwyk of Sheboygan Lutheran High School. Boeckmannisa2yearYAstudent in Industrial Maintenance at Curt G. Joa, Inc. who will be moving forward into their Registered Apprenticeship next year. Steenwyk, a 2nd year Engineering Youth Apprentice at Kohler Company will be attending Duke University in the fall majoring in Bio-Medical Engineering and minoring in Global Studies.

The Sheboygan YA program has grown rapidly in the past few years, from 11 students in 2010-11 to 32 students in 2011-12. The program swelled to 68 students in the 2013-14 school year and the 2014- 15 year saw 92 students enrolled in the program as area businesses are acknowledging the need to recruit future employees to occupations that will be in demand in the near future.

Elkhart Lake High School

Charles Aviles, Kevin Bell, Michael Birenbaum, John Boeckmann,

Howards Grove High School

Cora Bollwahn, Davina Boykin, Wesley Brockway, Eric Burgard, Stephan Clemens,

IDEAS High School

Marcus Davis

Kiel High School

Sabrina Doxtator, Zachary Dulmes, Will Goedeke, Hunter Grunow, Nick Harmeling, Carver Hass

Kohler High School

Samantha Hoyt

New Holstein High School

Mackenzie Kaat, Samantha Kannich, Caleb Kelley, Noah Kreis,

Oostburg High School

Phoua Kue, Tess Leibham, Joshua LeMahieu, Patrick Lemkuil, Samuel Loomans, Ian McKinch

Plymouth High School

Alexander Mueller, Jacob Muth, Matthew Nitsch, Jairo Orozco, Sergio Pulido, Jarred Rautmann, Hunter Rolkosky, Mike Rose, Tyler Rose, Alexia Samsal, Aaron Schaefer

Sheboygan Christian High School

Caterson Schamberger, Brittany Schneider, Hunter Schoenborn, Collin Scholz,

Sheboygan Falls High School

Philip Schultz, Sara Schultz, Logan Schwartz, Jordan Sonnentag

Sheboygan Lutheran High School

Omar Sosa, Carlie Stauss, Nicholas Steenwyk, Dakota Steffen,

Sheboygan North High School

Tristan Stiebs, Taylor Tesky, Cheyenne Thein, Alizabeth Thelen, Stephanie Thiel,

Sheboygan South High School

Stuart Thiel, Charlie Tobin, Breanna VanEss, Zackary Vogel, Derek Wagner, Claire Wichert, Chris Wilson, Tessa Woelfel, Windy Xiong, Choua Yang

Most recent cover pages:

Copyright 2009-2018 The Plymouth Review, All Rights Reserved

Contact Information

113 E. Mill St., Plymouth WI 53073
Local: 920-893-6411 Toll Free: 1-877-467-6591
Fax: 920-893-5505