Sheboygan’s Rivest wins Dirt Track feature

by Amy Juech Special to The Review

PLYMOUTH — Plymouth Dirt Track Racing held its Midseason Night Saturday with extended features, adding five laps to each race.

The Outlaw Compacts were first out with Brody Rivest and Scott Schlafke setting the pace. Schlafke pulled out to an early lead, with Brody Rivest and Cody Pankow in tow.

Jon Hitsman and James Rautmann both left to the attention of their crew for unknown mechanical issues. Norb Rivest pulled into the infield after his hood folded back, blocking his view. Schlafke had company with Brody Rivest wheel to wheel with him for two laps, with Schlafke eventually losing the battle.

Cody Pankow developed mechanical issues trying to smoke out the competition with just three laps to go. Checkers fly in this caution-free race with Brody Rivest (Sheboygan) winning and a clean sweep for the evening. He was also a heat winner.

Schlafke (Cleveland) finished second, followed in order by Cody Pankow (Lomira), Chris Maas (Oakfield) and Ryan Mueller (Sheboygan).

The Super Modifieds were up next with Butchie Hafemann and Dennis Klumb setting the pace of this 20-lap event. Klumb quickly grabed the lead with Hafemann behind. Bob Brion and LeRoy Ostrowski left the track with mechanical issues.

Johnny Fahl wasted no time closing in on Hafemann and passed him for second. On lap 15 Johnny Fahl was gaining on Klumb and ran side by side until Fahl took over the lead.

Klumb had another misfortune this week – blowing a radiator hose and laying a large amount of fluid down coming out of turn 2 which brought the first caution.

Hafemann ran the high side lap after lap to pass Fahl and regain the lead. Fahl fights back on the outside to take the white flag. A caution waves for Randy Ostermann who spun.

Since the white flag was out, the race was complete, making Fahl (Brown Deer) the winner, followed by Hafemann (Campbellsport), Roger Borth (Howards Grove), Randy Ostermann (Howards Grove) and Klumb (Adell), respectively.

Tyler Kulow and Don Sorce Jr. led the Grand Nationals to the green flag. Sorce controlled the field immediately with Kulow and Kevin Lubach in tow. By lap 10 Sorce had a straightaway lead on the field.

Roger Lee and Matt Loehr battled for the fourth position. Brad Weiss and Brad Lubach pulled into the infield with mechanical issues. On lap 13 Sorce Jr. was lapping traffic, with Roger Lee and Mark Fieber closing in on Kevin Lubach.

Lapped traffic was making it difficult for fellow drivers to catch Sorce Jr. Justin Erickson received a mechanical black flag for a tire issue. Sorce Jr. was running a half a track ahead of second place. Steve Weber, Gary Glander and Matt Loehr also pulled off with mechanical issues.

Lee, Kulow and Kevin Lubach ran three-wide a few times as they battled for second. Kulow ends up running through the infield, losing many spots.

Sorce Jr. (West Allis) won this caution-free race, followed in order by Roger Lee (Wind Lake), Kevin Lubach (Elkhart Lake), Fieber (Cascade) and Jeff Lammers (Plymouth).

The Sprints pushed off next and Wayne Modjeski and Kevin Karnitz led the field to the green flag. Tim Haddy wasted no time taking over the lead by lap one after starting fourth.

Shane Wenninger got a little high a few times as he tried to maneuver towards the front. Dannon Tessmer brings out the first caution as he spun in turns 3 and 4.

Haddy was running a high line and had a 10-car-length lead over Modjeski by lap 10. Kevin Karnitz and Justin Miller battled for eighth place, and Shane Wennigner and Donny Goeden were swapping 12th.

Quietly, Kurt Davis and Tim Melis worked their way through traffic to be running second and third, respectively, after starting ninth and 13th, respectively.

Dave Deicher waved the double checkers for Haddy (Waupun), followed in order by Kurt Davis (West Allis), Tim Melis (Milwaukee), Tony Wondra (Campbellsport) and Modjeski (Oak Creek).

Last out were the Late Models with a father/son front row of Jim and Justin Schmidt. Justin jumped out to an early lead as Jim gets sideways and was corrected by fellow drivers. Tim Buhler settled into second with Mitch McGrath behind.

When the checkers fly it is Mitch McGrath (Waukesha) over Justin Schmidt (Cleveland), Buhler (Glenbeulah), Brad Mueller (Random Lake) and Taylor Scheffler (Waukesha), respectively.

For more information, visit

Most recent cover pages:

POLL: Do you think Elkhart Lake made the right decision in not allowing Strawberry the pot-bellied pig?:

Copyright 2009-2018 The Plymouth Review, All Rights Reserved

Contact Information

113 E. Mill St., Plymouth WI 53073
Local: 920-893-6411 Toll Free: 1-877-467-6591
Fax: 920-893-5505

Scott's Excavating, Inc.