Schlafke rallies to win Outlaw Compact feaure

by Amy Juech Special to The Review

MATT YANCEY of Sheboygan races in the Grand National feature at the Plymouth Dirt Track Saturday night. – Photo by Frank Motorsports MATT YANCEY of Sheboygan races in the Grand National feature at the Plymouth Dirt Track Saturday night. – Photo by Frank Motorsports PLYMOUTH — Jon Hitsman and Ryan Mueller made up the front row of Plymouth Dirt Track Racing’s Outlaw Compacts feature Saturday night.

Mueller took control of the field early with Scott Schlafke in second. Lonny Schlafke eventually passed Donnie Welch for fourth. Chris Maas worked for two laps until taking control of second.

Scott Schlafke rallies back and takes over second and puts his sights on Ryan Mueller. On lap nine Ryan Mueller is passed by Scott Schlafke and Maas. Scott Schlafke comes up to lapped traffic on lap 14.

The checkers fly for another caution-free Outlaw Compact feature. Scott Schlafke (Cleveland) crossed first, followed in order by Maas (Oakfield), Mueller (Sheboygan), Brody Rivest (Sheboygan) and Lonny Schlafke (Sheboygan).

Brad Lubach and Roger Lee brought the Grand Nationals to the green flag. Lubach wasted no time taking over the field with Johnathon Singer settled into second. Brian Cesar, Matt Loehr and Roger Lee battled over third place as they ran three-wide.

Melissa Singer brought out the first caution when she got turned around in turn 3. Tim Simon and Lee were not pleased with each other, continually tapping each other.

Brian Cesar finally passed Johnathon Singer to take over second. Loehr passed Cesar three laps later for second. Brad Weiss pulled into the infield with mechanical issues.

Lubach was running into lapped traffic on lap 16 until a caution flew for tires on the racing surface in turn 1. Don Sorce Jr. quietly worked his way towards the front, now competing with Loehr for second.

Steven Weber and Lee battled for sixth place, as Simon and Mark Fieber battled over eighth. Double checkers waved for Lubach (Kiel), trailed by Sorce Jr. (West Allis), Loehr (Mt. Calvary), Cesar (Sheboygan) and Lee (Wind Lake), respectively.

The Late Models rolled trackside next with Brad Mueller and Turk Letizia making up the front row. Mueller wasted no time gaining control of the field.

Mueller had a five-car-length lead over Taylor Scheffler. TJ Dolhun, Tim Buhler, and Craig Schueffner who was driving for Jim Schmidt, battled over fifth place. Buhler slowed on the backstretch and made it to turn 4 until he stopped and a caution waved.

Justin Schmidt and Schueffner raced side by side for third. Mueller (Random Lake) crosses the checkers first.

Donny Goeden (Kewaskum) won the Sprint Car feature. Paul Pokorski (West Bend) took second, followed in order by Jim Melis (Glenbeulah), Jason Johnson (Campbellsport) and Brandon McMullen (Plymouth).

For more information, log onto

Most recent cover pages:

POLL: Do you think Elkhart Lake made the right decision in not allowing Strawberry the pot-bellied pig?:

Copyright 2009-2018 The Plymouth Review, All Rights Reserved

Contact Information

113 E. Mill St., Plymouth WI 53073
Local: 920-893-6411 Toll Free: 1-877-467-6591
Fax: 920-893-5505