Tigers’ Rautmann on All-BEC second team

by Greg Ceilley of The Review staff

MICAH RAUTMANN MICAH RAUTMANN Eight Howards Grove Tigers earned 2015 All-Big East Conference football honors, led by senior linebacker Micah Rautmann who was voted to the second-team defense by the BEC coaches.

The other Tigers recognized, all honorable mention, include: offense – senior tight end Zac Stauss, senior linemen Nick Brickner and Alex Navis, junior running back Jake Fritz and senior quarterback Travis Stanczyk; and defense – junior end Michael Gray, tackles Brickner and Navis, junior back Josh Scheuren and linebacker Stauss.

Rautmann made 65 total tackles (including 31 solos) which ranked eighth in the BEC. He also forced a fumble and had an interception.

“Micah had a motor that would not quit. He rarely if ever came off the field as he was also our starting center,” said Tiger head coach David Schmid.

“He was not the biggest or fastest player we had but he had a huge heart and played with a team first attitude. He blitzed often and was able to cause havoc in the backfield for opposing teams’ linemen and quarterbacks.

“He always had a great attitude in practice and picked players up when they were down. His leadership and playing ability will be sorely missed next year,” said Schmid.

Stauss tied for seventh in the league in receptions with 20 for 231 yards (11.6 average per catch). He had two TD catches.

Senior running back Riley Baer of Hilbert/Stockbridge was voted the BEC’s Offensive Player of the Year. Baer finished No. 2 in the league in rushing with 1,036 yards and ran for 13 TDs which shared first with senior running back Taylor Heiden of Cedar Grove-Belgium.

Baer and Heiden are on the firstteam offense. Heiden was the rushing champion with 1,216 yards.

The Defensive Player of the Year is senior tackle Garrett Sweere of Hilbert, a unanimous first-team pick.

Hilbert head coach Mike Breckheimer, who guided the Wolves to the inaugural BEC title, was named the league’s Coach of the Year. The Wolves finished conference play at 8-0.

Junior quarterback Brayden Van Ess of Kohler/Sheboygan Lutheran/ Christian led the BEC in passing yardage with 1,558 and TD passes with 19.

Senior end Michael Chorowicz of KLC paced the league in receptions with 45 and receiving yardage, 924. Senior end Michael Richter of Ozaukee had 12 TD catches, followed by Chorowicz with 10.


All-BEC Football

FIRST-TEAM OFFENSE Ends – Michael Richter, Ozaukee, sr.; Michael Chorowicz, Kohler/Sheboygan Lutheran/Christian, sr.; Reid Hilbelink, Cedar Grove-Belgium, jr.; Luke Heinen, KLC, jr. Linemen – Garrett Sweere, Hilbert/ Stockbridge, sr.; Caleb Chaloupka, Oostburg, sr.; Brett Simmelink, CG-B, sr.; Dan Gjertson, CG-B, sr.; Anthony Rauch, Ozaukee, jr.; Erik Morreau, Mishicot, sr. Quarterbacks – Brayden Van Ess, KLC, jr.; Josh Weiss, CG-B, jr. Running backs – Taylor Heiden, CG-B, sr.; Riley Baer, Hilbert, sr.; Brody Gatz, Oostburg, sr. Place-kicker – Jordan Villa, CG-B, sophomore. FIRST-TEAM DEFENSE Ends – Kyle Krueger, Hilbert, soph.; Chaloupka, Oostburg, sr. Tackles – Sweere, Hilbert, sr.; Gjertson, CG-B, sr.; Grant Klas, Ozaukee, sr. Linebackers – Cameron Kirst, CGB, soph.; Avery Clark, Ozaukee, sr.; Curt Simon, Hilbert, jr.; Ben Drenski, Random Lake, jr.; Alec Arndt, Oostburg, jr. Backs – Chorowicz, KLC, sr.; Hilbelink, CG-B, jr.; Richter, Ozaukee, sr.; Jacob Gross, Oostburg, sr.; Connor Kuhn, Hilbert, jr. Punter – Grant Propson, Hilbert, fresh. SECOND-TEAM OFFENSE Ends – Jonah Frier, Oostburg, jr.; Jared Zausch, Ozaukee, jr.; Matt Dirkse, CG-B, jr.; Tyler Nelson, St.

Mary Catholic, sr. Linemen – Krueger, Hilbert, soph.; Elijah Neumann SMC, jr.; Josh Steckmesser, Manitowoc Lutheran, jr.; Klas, Ozaukee, sr.; Riley Stout, RL, sr.; Arndt, Oostburg, jr. Quarterbacks – Joe Lippe, Ozaukee, jr.; Sam Hoheisel, SMC, sr. Running backs – Jack Ribley, Mishicot, jr.; Caleb Davidson, SMC, sr.; Nick Wojciechowski, Ozaukee, sr. Place-kicker – Jack Kohler, KLC, soph. SECOND-TEAM DEFENSE Ends – Jared Zausch, Ozaukee, jr.; Amani Anjun, CG-B, jr. Tackles – Simmelink, CG-B, sr.; Zak Elliot, Mishicot, sr.; Joe Meyer, Oostburg, sr. Linebackers – Rauch, Ozaukee, jr.; Baer, Hilbert, sr.; Davidson, SMC, sr.; Ian Eickhoff, ML, sr.; Micah Rautmann, Howards Grove, sr. Backs – Ethan Brochtrup, CG-B, jr.; Cordell Huiras, RL, jr.; Josh Lacey, SMC, sr.; Rueban Vogt, ML, sr.; Chris Brill, Oostburg, sr. Punter – Ryan Post, CG-B, sr. HONORABLE-MENTION OFFENSE Ends – Zac Stauss, HG, sr.; Carter King, SMC, sr.; Huiras, RL, jr.; Brill, Oostburg, sr.; Austin Martin, RL, jr. Linemen – Nick Brickner, HG, sr.; Michael Gesch, KLC, sr.; Jordan Klotz, Hilbert, sr.; Will Navis, CG-B, jr.; Sam Walter, Ozaukee, soph.; Alex Navis, HG, sr.; George Feind, CG-B, sr.; Luke Silvestri, KLC, jr.; Alex Timm, KLC, sr.; Ben Kretz, Oostburg, jr.; Hunter Huiras, RL, jr. Quarterbacks – Jacob Gross, Oostburg,

sr.; Ryan Schwahn, Reedsville, sr.; Travis Stanczyk, HG, sr; Bryan Weiss, RL, jr. Running backs – Bill Adams, Oostburg, sr.; Clark, Ozaukee, sr.; Jake Fritz, HG, jr.; Helton Vandenbush, RL, jr.; Erik Holeman, RL, sr.; Nick Stubbe, ML, jr.; Sam Kohler, KLC, jr. Place-kicker – Clark, Ozaukee, sr.; Holeman, RL, sr. HONORABLE-MENTION DEFENSE Ends – Avi Sehgal, CG-B, jr.; Mitchell Fisher, SMC, jr.; H. Huiras, RL, jr.; Michael Gesch, KLC, sr.; Michael Gray, HG, jr.; Kelgan Schmitt, Ozaukee, jr. Tackles – Brickner, HG, sr.; Sean Delahunt, KLC, sr.; Morreau, Mishicot, sr.; Adams, Oostburg, sr.; Neumann, SMC, jr.; Ben Petersen, Ozaukee, jr.; Matt Risch, RL, sr.; Allen Schultz, Reedsville, sr.; Navis, HG, sr.; Jacob Mitchell, RL, sr. Linebackers – Isaac Brockman, CG-B, sr.; Riley Kasper, Reedsville, jr.; Kohler, KLC, jr.; Will Navis, CG-B, sr.; King, SMC, sr.; Jace Ribley, Mishicot, sr.; Gatz, Oostburg, sr.; Sam Pfrang, KLC, sr.; Colin Hughes, Ozaukee, sr.; Tyler Falk, CG-B, sr.; Tadeo Maier, Oostburg, soph.; Dylan Winquist, Mishicot, sr.; Stauss, HG, sr. Backs – Josh Scheuren, HG, jr.; Drew Honzik, Mishicot, sr.; Cameron Deppiesse, CG-B, sr.; Jake Yanke, Ozaukee, jr.; Jared Hendersen, Ozaukee, jr.; Travis Jacob, RL, soph.; Zach Hendrikse, KLC, jr. Punter – Frier, Oostburg, jr.; E. Holeman, RL, sr.; Michael Stock, KLC, jr.; Davidson, SMC, sr.

Most recent cover pages:

Copyright 2009-2018 The Plymouth Review, All Rights Reserved

Contact Information

113 E. Mill St., Plymouth WI 53073
Local: 920-893-6411 Toll Free: 1-877-467-6591
Fax: 920-893-5505