Presidential primary, local races on tap next Tuesday

by Emmitt B. Feldner
of The Review staff

While the presidential primary and the race for Wisconsin Supreme Court justice are garnering most of the attention, there are some local races on the ballot for the spring general election Tuesday, April 5.

Voters will be asked to choose in races for three town boards and three village boards, as well as for one seat on the Sheboygan Falls City Council and one on the Sheboygan City Council.

This will be the second election where the state’s voter ID law will be in effect, following the February primary election.

That means every voter will have to present a valid photo identification in order to cast their ballot.

Information on voter ID requirements is available on a website of the Government Accountability Board, The GAB is also running public service radio and television ads to remind voters to bring their photo ID with them to polling places.

Tuesday’s election includes the County Board. There are no contested races for any of the 25 seats on the board, with 24 incumbents unopposed.

In the board’s 21st district, which includes the village of Oostburg and the southern half of the town of Wilson, there is no candidate on the ballot.

Supervisor Brian Hilbelink was appointed to the seat last May following Devin Le- Mahieu’s resignation to take a seat in the state Senate. Hilbelink is not running for election to a full term and no candidate filed to run for the seat.

Town board races will be on the ballot for the towns of Greenbush, Holland and Mitchell.

In Greenbush, incumbent Supervisor Paul Eischen is being challenged by John Kline for one of two open seats on the board.

The race for two seats in the town of Holland features four candidates – incumbent Stanley Lammers and challengers Douglas Hamilton, Reid Rathjen and Nathan Voskuil.

Incumbent Supervisor David Schuh is joined by Jen Buelow, Luanne Rady and Ken Sonntag in the race for two seats on the Mitchell Town Board.

There are contests for Village Board seats in the villages of Adell, Glenbeulah and Oostburg in Tuesday’s election.

Jim Jentch is challenging incumbent trustees Brian Parr, Kim Peterson and Jane Schneider in the race for three seats on the Adell Village Board.

In the village of Glenbeulah, incumbent Corynn Feldmann and Daniel Grunewald are joined by challenger Dale Cary in the contest for two seats on the Village Board.

Three seats on the Oostburg Village Board are on Tuesday’s ballot, with incumbents Jim Davies and Carl Roethel vying with Jon Kuhlow, Brian Schumacher and Glenn Wynveen.

Incumbents in the city of Plymouth – Mayor Donald Pohlman, 1st District Alderman Greg Hildebrand, 2nd District Alderman Jim Sedlacek, 3rd District Alderman James Faller and 4th District Alderman Shawn Marcom are all running unopposed.

The same is true for Plymouth Town Board incumbents Gene Blindauer and Roger Rortvedt.

In Elkhart Lake, incumbent trustees Steve Kapellen and Lynn Shovan along with newcomer John Schott are the three candidates for three seats on the Village Board.

Three current Plymouth School Board members are the only candidates for three seats on the board. They are Tony Backhaus in area A (city of Plymouth), Bob Travis in area B (outside the city of Plymouth) and Tim St. Clair in area C (all areas of the district).

While candidates for each seat must be residents of the specified area, voters in the entire district can vote for all three seats.

There are only two candidates for two open seats on the Elkhart Lake-Glenbeulah and Howards Grove school boards.

Andy Martin and incumbent Keith Ruh are the candidates in Elkhart Lake-Glenbeulah, while Kari Bramstedt and incumbent Kimberly Plass are the candidates in Howards Grove.

Voters will select a justice for the Wisconsin Supreme Court in what has been a highly-charged race between incumbent Justice Rebecca Bradley – appointed to the court last year by Gov. Scott Walker – and State Appeals Court Judge JoAnne Kloppenburg.

Although the fields have been greatly reduced in the presidential contests on the Democratic and Republican sides, voters will have a fuller slate to choose from in Tuesday’s primary.

The two Democratic finalists, Hillary Clinton and Bernie Sanders, are joined on the ballot by Martin O’Malley, who has dropped out of the race.

The three candidates still in the Republican race – Ted Cruz, John Kasich and Donald Trump – will be on the ballot along with more than half a dozen one-time candidates who have left the race.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. next Tuesday. A complete list of polling places is in the sample ballot which will be in Thursday’s Review.

Most recent cover pages:

With Giannis Antetokounmpo in the NBA All-Star Game Sunday ...:

Copyright 2009-2019 The Plymouth Review, All Rights Reserved

Contact Information

113 E. Mill St., Plymouth WI 53073
Local: 920-893-6411 Toll Free: 1-877-467-6591
Fax: 920-893-5505