Candidates primed for spring election

by Jeff Pederson
Sheboygan Falls News Editor

Highlighted by the Republican and Democratic presidential primary, Tuesday, April 5, is likely to see a strong turnout of voters for the spring general election.

On the Republican side, Donald Trump remains as the frontrunner with Texas Sen. Ted Cruz running second and Ohio Sen. John Kasich third.

Democratic candidate Hillary Clinton holds a solid lead over Vermont Sen. Bernie Sanders heading into the Wisconsin Presidential primary.

On the local level, just one of 10 available local seats on the Sheboygan Falls Common Council, School Board and Town Board will feature a contested race.

The sole contested race will feature incumbent 3rd District Alderwoman Dawn Beimel facing off against challenger Robert Spatz for a seat on the Sheboygan Falls Common Council.

The race features a rematch of the 2014 3rd District aldermanic election, in which Beimel edged Robert Spatz by just 13 votes (293-280).

Beimel, who is a 1991 Sheboygan Falls High School graduate, has held the 3rd District aldermanic seat since 2008 and will be seeking her fifth two-year term.

As the challenger, Spatz has not held an elected position before. This is the second consecutive election in which Spatz has mounted a run for the 3rd District council seat.

Sheboygan Falls Mayor Randy Meyer, who has served as the city’s mayor since 2004, will seek a seventh and what he has announced will be his final two-term as mayor.

After facing a challenge from former Alderman Dan Krueger, Meyer will be running uncontested in this year’s spring election.

Former Sheboygan Falls Mayor Dave Specht will be seeking his fourth term as Municipal Court judge. Specht has held the municipal judge’s chair since 2005.

In the 1st District, Alderman Terry Van Engen will run unopposed.

Van Engen has held the seat since 2005, when Meyer appointed him to fill an open seat on the council.

The 2nd District aldermanic seat will also be uncontested as former city of Sheboygan Falls Alderman and Sheboygan County Board Supervisor John Raml will run for the position unopposed.

Current 2nd District Alderman Randy Messner, who is the longest tenured member of the Sheboygan Falls Common Council with 18 years of experience under his belt, will not to seek a 10th two-year term on the council.

There will be three candidates for three available seats on the Sheboygan Falls School Board.

Board President John Mauer, who has served on the board for the past 10 years will run unopposed, as will John Johnson and newcomer Naomi Borgenhagen.

Johnson has served on the board since October 2012, when he was appointed to fill the seat vacated by Kari Riddell.

Borgenhagen was appointed to the board last June, following the resignation of Steve Aykens.

The two Sheboygan Falls Town Board supervisor seats will also be uncontested. Neither Lyman “Skip” Theobald nor Jim Hanke will receive opposition in the 2016 spring election.

Theobald has served as a supervisor on the Town Board for over 20 years, while Hanke is nearing the completion of his fourth twoyear term on the board.

In addition, both Sheboygan County Board incumbents representing districts in the city of Sheboygan Falls are set to run unopposed.

District 19 Supervisor Libby Ogea has served on the County Board since 2013, while Steve Bauer, who represents District 18 and was also elected to his first term on the County Board in 2013, will run unopposed in the April 5 spring election.

In the Wisconsin Supreme Court race, incumbent state Supreme Court Justice Rebecca Bradley will face a challenge from District IV Court of Appeals Judge Joanne Kloppenburg in a hotly contested race.

The spring general election will take place on Tuesday, April 5 with polls open from 7 a.m.-8 p.m. at the Sheboygan Falls Municipal Building and Sheboygan Falls Town Hall.

This will be the second election where the state’s voter ID law will be in effect, following the February primary election.

That means every voter will have to present a valid photo identification in order to cast their ballot. Information on voter ID requirements is available on a website of the Government Accountability Board, BringIt.Wisconsin. gov. The GAB is also running public service radio and television ads to remind voters to bring their photo ID with them to polling places.

Most recent cover pages:

POLL: Do you think Elkhart Lake made the right decision in not allowing Strawberry the pot-bellied pig?:

Copyright 2009-2018 The Plymouth Review, All Rights Reserved

Contact Information

113 E. Mill St., Plymouth WI 53073
Local: 920-893-6411 Toll Free: 1-877-467-6591
Fax: 920-893-5505

Sunset Tours