Random Lake’s Mueller wins Late Model feature

by Amy Juech
Special to The Review

PLYMOUTH – The rumbling of the Late Models rolled trackside for the first Plymouth Dirt Track Racing feature event Saturday night.

Ron Stroika (Mukwonago) led lap one with Brad Mueller (Random Lake) looking to pass. A quick yellow flew for a few cars colliding.

Stroika led on the restart until Mueller took over with Randy Markwardt (Sheboygan) in second. Another caution waved, Justin Hirt (Tigerton) was penalized two spots on the restart for continually hitting the tires.

Justin Schmidt (Cleveland) pulled his car into the infield on the restart for mechanical issues. Mueller pulled away from the pack as Jim Letizia (Milwaukee) looked outside son, Turk, (Milwaukee) for seventh.

Tim Buhler (Glenbeulah) looked inside Hirt for third. Mueller extended his lead to a front stretch over Markwardt. Mueller now has to maneuver lapped traffic. Markwardt chose another line in an attempt to catch Mueller. Eric Michaels (Cleveland) left to the attention of his crew.

Jim Schmidt (Cleveland) and Stroika continually ran side by side and swapped seventh place. Dave Thomas (Franklin) retired to the pits as well. Hirt looked inside Markwardt for second and Markwardt would pull away on the front and backstretch.

Jim Letizia, Stroika and Jim Schmidt went three wide for fifth place on the front stretch. Adam Janke (Bear Creek) broke on the backstretch, bringing out the final caution.

Mueller restarted with Markwardt and Hirt looking to pass. Mueller pulled out on the restart to lead the final lap and finish first. Hirt passed Markwardt for second. Markwardt took third, fourth went to Tim Buhler, followed by Jim Schmidt.

Richard Hed (Plymouth) and Jesse Cullen (Chilton) made up the front row of the Grand National feature. Hed took control early with Matt Loehr (Mount Calvary) in second.

A caution waved for tires on the track. Hed regained control with Loehr in second.

Justin Erickson (Plymouth) and Mark Fieber (Cascade) competed for 11th. Melissa Singer (Waldo), Matt Yancey (Sheboygan) and Nick Schumacher (Eagle) were three-wide on the front stretch for seventh.

Melissa Singer and Justin Erickson collided in turn four, bringing out another caution. Loehr was penalized two spots for hitting tires on the restart.

Hed remained in control with Jeff Lammers (Plymouth) looking outside for the lead. Brad Weiss (West Bend) retired to the infield.

Cullen and Tim Simon (Fond du Lac) swapped sixth and were then joined by Fieber, going three- wide. Three-wide was not successful as Simon and Cullen spun.

Brian Cesar (Sheboygan), Lammers and Steven Weber (Plymouth) went three-wide for second place on the restart.

Hed still in control of this race. Cesar was reeling in Hed, looking inside on each corner. Fieber passed Yancey and Tyler Kulow (New Holstein) passed Josh Pierce (Fredonia). Cesar collided with Hed. Lammers looked to gain second going outside.

The top three were going three- wide coming out of turn four. Cesar lost the battle as Lammers and Hed finish 0.017 seconds apart. The winner was Hed, followed in order by Lammers, Cesar, Weber and Yancey.

The Sprints pushed off next with Kurt Davis (West Allis) and Dannon Tessmer (Allenton) setting the pace. Tessmer got into Davis coming out of turn two, bringing out a red.

Jim Melis (Glenbeulah), Douglas Pietz (Milwaukee) and Tyler Brabant (Waupun) flipped. Jeff Ludwig was disqualified for driving past the accident scene under red.

Donny Goeden (Kewaskum) and Chris Clayton (Waldo) made up the new front row. Goeden shot out to an early lead over Clayton and Scott Conger (Eagle).

Derek Siegel (Milwaukee) brought out our next caution for stopping on the backstretch. Goeden had another strong restart and pulled away with over a front- stretch lead.

Brandon McMullen (Plymouth) moved into second place after a short battle with Clayton. Paul Pokorski (West Bend) went inside Kurt Davis for ninth. Goeden was starting to lap traffic.

Davis was moving on the high side, picking off quite a few drivers after restarting in the rear from the accident earlier. Goeden lapped about half the field and was still sailing.

Conger and Tim Haddy (Waupun) were side by side. McMullen was maneuvering lapped traffic in an attempt to find Goeden. Davis broke into the top five, working on Haddy next.

Goeden continued to hold his backstretch lead over McMullen and was attempting to lap the seventh-place car. Double checkers waved for Goeden followed in order by McMullen, Davis, Haddy and Conger.

The B Modifieds made their way trackside next with Jerry Duggan (Manitowoc) and Bill Edler (Sheboygan) setting the pace. Unfortunately, Duggan lost his drive shaft immediately, bringing out a caution before completion of lap one.

Edler took the lead early, followed by Joe Bongiorno (Milwaukee). A second caution waved for Elijah Koenig (Fox Lake) coming to rest on top of the turn-four tires.

Edler, Bongiorno and Bud Riedner (Waunaukee) raced three- wide for the top spot. Edler won the battle and started to pull away from the pack.

Brandon Knepprath (Kewaskum) and Patrick Hanson (Sheboygan Falls) collided for another caution. Edler held off Riedner for the lead.

Edler started to lap traffic. Justin Lueck (Oakfield) and Bongiorno left to the attention of their crews after another caution.

Edler held on to the lead over Riedner. Cody Eickberg (Plymouth) was looking to pass for second. Brandon Berth (Cascade) was up to sixth after starting 11th.

Riedner spun the leader Edler out in turn one. Both drivers were sent to the rear. The time limit was reached. The restart was green, white, checkered.

Eickberg had control of the field now with Berth right behind. The checkers waved for Eickberg, followed in order by Berth, Glen Blanke (Sheboygan Falls), Koenig and Mike Plate (Valders).

The Micro Sprints were last this evening. Denver and Dylan Larsen (Shiocton) set the pace. Zach Boden (Cambridge) went out to an early lead after starting fourth.

Denver Larsen spun, bringing out a quick caution. Boden had a strong restart. Andrew Rein (West Bend) jumped the tires in turns one and two, slowing his momentum. Boden had a backstretch lead over Andrew Rein.

Caution flew for Rein spinning in turns three and four. Boden remained in control on the restart. Rein is back up to third. Denver Larsen passed David Collins for fourth.

Zach Rein retired to the pits and Collins pulled into the infield.

The checkers waved for Boden. Second went to Rein, followed in order by Dylan Larsen, Denver Larsen and David Collins.

For more information, go to www.plymouthpdtr.com.

Most recent cover pages:

With Giannis Antetokounmpo in the NBA All-Star Game Sunday ...:

Copyright 2009-2019 The Plymouth Review, All Rights Reserved

Contact Information

113 E. Mill St., Plymouth WI 53073
Local: 920-893-6411 Toll Free: 1-877-467-6591
Fax: 920-893-5505

Competitive Plumbing Services