Farm Service Agency hosts open house for committee elections

Sheboygan County USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) Executive Director, Gretchen Smith reminds farmers and landowners that FSA is hosting an open house regarding the 2016 County Committee Election process on July 13, 2016, at 1-3 p.m. at the Sheboygan County FSA Office located at 650 Forest Ave in Sheboygan Falls.

Producers, including minority, women and new farmers, are encouraged to attend the open house and participate in the 2016 election.

The county committee nomination period began on June 15, 2016. Nomination forms must be postmarked or received in the Sheboygan County FSA Office by close of business on Aug. 1, 2016.

For election purposes, counties are divided into local administrative areas (LAA). Each LAA nominates and elects one producer to serve a three-year term on the FSA County Committee.

Each year, an election is held in an LAA where a committee member’s three-year term is expiring. For 2016, an election will be held in LAA 1, which includes Greenbush, Mitchell, Rhine, Russell, and Scott.

“Farmers and ranchers in LAA 1 are urged to participate in this year's county committee elections by nominating candidates by the August 1, 2016 deadline,” said Smith. “County Committees are unique to FSA and allow producers to have a voice on federal farm program implementation at the local level."

To be eligible to serve on an FSA county committee, a person must participate or cooperate in a program administered by FSA, be eligible to vote in a county committee election and reside in the LAA in which the person is a candidate.

Farmers and ranchers may nominate themselves or others. Organizations representing minorities and women also may nominate candidates.

To become a candidate, an eligible individual must sign an FSA-669A nomination form. The form and other information about FSA county committee elections are available at

Nomination forms must be postmarked or received in the local USDA Service Center by close of business on Aug. 1, 2016.

Nationwide, there are approximately 7,800 farmers and ranchers serving on FSA county committees.

These individuals make decisions on disaster and conservation programs, emergency programs, commodity price support loan programs and other agricultural issues. Committees consist of three to 11 members that are elected by eligible producers.

Persons with disabilities who require accommodations to attend or participate in this meeting should contact Gretchen Smith at 920-467-9917, ext. 2, or Federal Relay Service at 1-800-877-8339, by June , 2016.

Most recent cover pages:

Manny Machado is set to make $300 million over the next 10 years:

Copyright 2009-2019 The Plymouth Review, All Rights Reserved

Contact Information

113 E. Mill St., Plymouth WI 53073
Local: 920-893-6411 Toll Free: 1-877-467-6591
Fax: 920-893-5505

Sunny Ridge