Cascade’s Fieber earns Grand National win

by Amy Juech
Special to The Review

BRANDON MCMULLEN (98) of Plymouth and Jim Melis, Glenbeulah, duel in Saturday night’s Sprint feature at the Plymouth Dirt Track. McMullen won the race. – Photo by Frank Motorsports BRANDON MCMULLEN (98) of Plymouth and Jim Melis, Glenbeulah, duel in Saturday night’s Sprint feature at the Plymouth Dirt Track. McMullen won the race. – Photo by Frank Motorsports PLYMOUTH – Justin Erickson (Plymouth) and Brian Gilles (Plymouth) brought the the Grand Nationals to the green, kicking off Saturday night’s Plymouth Dirt Track Racing program.

Mark Fieber (Cascade) managed to work his way through three-wide racing on the backstretch and lead lap one. Fieber continued to lead over Steven Weber (Plymouth) and Erickson who battled for second place.

Josh Pierce (Fredonia) and Matt Yancey (Sheboygan) swapped seventh while Weber and Matt Loehr (Mount Calvary) switched third place. Drivers were three-wide for 11th.

Fieber was sailing and up to lapped traffic by lap nine. A caution waved for Brian Cesar (Sheboygan) and Jeff Lammers (Plymouth) who spun in turn four.

Fieber had another strong restart as second- and third-place drivers Erickson and Weber, respectively, made contact, bringing out another caution. Fieber was over Loehr on the restart, Lammers skimmed the backstretch wall as he battled on the high side.

Pierce unfortunately broke and retired to the pits early. Jonathon Singer (Random Lake), Dave Holm (West Bend) and Brad Weiss (Cascade) were three-wide for fifth. Chris Gilson (Elkhart Lake) moved up to fifth and Loehr was close behind, bumping Fieber in the corners.

Richard Hed (Plymouth) was outside Gilson for fourth. Cesar, Singer and Yancey were three- wide for seventh.

Fieber was up to lapped traffic again and Loehr went inside lapped traffic. Fieber cut back down as Loehr came up and they touched a few times coming out of turns three and four.

The checkers flew for Fieber with his 10th PDTR feature win and first since 2013. Second went to Loehr, followed in order by Gilles, Gilson and Tyler Kulow (New Hostein).

Brandon Knepprath (Kewaskum) and Larry Zirbel (Iron Ridge) set the pace for the B Modified feature. Knepprath jumped out to an early lead with Zirbel tucked in behind.

Four-wide on the backstretch doesn’t work and an immediate red flag flew for Justin Bauer (Sheboygan Falls) and Patrick Hanson (Sheboygan Falls) making heavy contact on the backstretch.

Knepprath continued to lead on the restart. Justin Green (Sheboygan Falls) and Jeremy Walvoord (Howards Grove) battled for fifth place. Zirbel looked outside for the lead.

Brandon Berth (Cascade) worked his way to sixth. Bauer was blackflagged for coming back out on the track with his window net down. Spencer Long (Sheboygan Falls) brought out a caution for spinning in turn four.

Rick Kretschmann (Sheboygan Falls) gained the lead on the restart with Zirbel in second. Green went outside Berth to take sixth. Kretschmann and Zirbel swapped the lead a few times with their sideby side racing. Joel Seegert (Sheboygan) was inside Walvoord for sixth.

Drivers were slowly spreading out and becoming single file. Kretschmann continued to close the door on Zirbel in the corners. Berth looked outside for second.

Berth and Rory Welch (Cedarburg) touched and then Berth spun Welch out. Berth was sent to the rear for rough driving.

Kretschmann had a strong restart with Zirbel to his inside and Cody Eickberg (Plymouth) high. Seegert was up to fourth until a mechanical issue sent him to the pits. Berth was moving forward and on a mission after restarting in the rear.

The checkers flew for Kretschmann with his first PDTR win, followed in order by Eickberg, Zirbel, Green and Walvoord.

Jason Johnson (Campbellsport) and Danny Schlafer (Sussex) led the Sprint field to the green and they continually ran side-by-side, lap after lap.

Tony Wondra (Campbellsport) and Donny Goeden (Kewaskum) battled side-by-side for 12th. Schlafer pulled out to finally lead lap five.

Brandon McMullen (Plymouth) was looking to pass Johnson for second. Goeden was outside Jeff Ludwig (Fond du Lac) for ninth. Will Gerrits (Waupun) went inside Kurt Davis (West Allis) for sixth.

McMullen passed to lead lap nine. McMullen came up to lapped traffic. Lapped traffic is running twowide and four-rows deep.

Ken Jay Fiedler (Sheboygan Falls) was inside Tim Haddy (Waupun) for sixth. McMullen was maneuvering between cars, even running three-wide to hold the lead. McMullen was trying everything to hold the lead as Schlafer attempted many passes.

Nick Melis (Plymouth) held off Davis and then Haddy lap after lap for sixth. Goeden slid past Davis for fifth. Haddy passed Johnson and Goeden for third.

McMullen worked his way through lapped traffic. Schlafer attempted to use lapped traffic to his advantage. Exciting racing came to a close within seconds of a new track record, with McMullen winning. Schlafer finished second, followed by Haddy, Johnson and Goeden, respectively.

Brad Mueller (Random Lake) and Turk Letizia (Milwaukee) set the pace for the Late Models. Mueller took control of the field immediately. Justin Schmidt (Cleveland) went inside Turk Letizia for second.

Jim Schmidt (Cleveland) was inside Ron Stroika (Mukwonago) for eighth.

Mueller ran down low, with Justin Schmidt up high. Mueller attempted to pull away lap after lap but Justin Schmidt didn’t allow much of a lead.

Chris Carlson (Union Grove) battled inside Turk Letizia for third. Justin Schmidt would close in on Mueller and then lose him after driving in a little too hard. Tim Buhler (Glenbeulah) looked high and low to pass Jim Schmidt.

Mueller approached lapped traffic on lap 12. Dave Thomas (Franklin) was inside Tony Peterson (Big Bend) for sixth. Justin Schmidt looked inside lapped cars as Mueller went to the outside of the lapped car and led lap 14.

Charlie Schmidt (Oostburg) was on cruise all by himself in fifth as drivers battled ahead and behind for position. Carlson closed in on the leaders on the high side.

Carlson was inside and then outside Mueller for second. Justin Schmidt pulled away from the field as the checkers waved. Second went to Mueller, followed in order by Carlson, Turk Letezia and Thomas.

For more information, visit

Most recent cover pages:

Copyright 2009-2019 The Plymouth Review, All Rights Reserved

Contact Information

113 E. Mill St., Plymouth WI 53073
Local: 920-893-6411 Toll Free: 1-877-467-6591
Fax: 920-893-5505

Lakeshore Galleries