Voters will make their choices Tuesday

by Emmitt B. Feldner
of The Review staff

What sometimes seemed to be an interminable election season is finally almost over.

Voters will go to the polls Tuesday to make their choices in national and state races, along with several school and local referenda.

Topping the ballot is the race for president, with major party candidates former Secretary of State and U.S. Senator Hillary Clinton for the Democrats and businessman and reality television star Donald Trump for the Republicans.

Voters in Wisconsin can also vote for candidates of five minor or third parties, including Libertarian Gary Johnson, Green Party candidate Jill Stein, Darrell Castle of the Constitution Party, Monica Moorehead of the Workers World Party and Rocky Roque De La Fuente of the American Delta Party.

In Congressional races, incumbent Republican U.S. Sen. Ron Johnson is running for re-election against Democrat Russ Feingold, whom he defeated in 2010 to win the seat.

Sixth District Congressman Glenn Grothman, R-Glenbeulah, faces two challengers in his bid for a second term in the House of Representatives.

Columbia County farmer Sarah Lloyd is the Democratic challenger to Grothman, while Jeff Dahlke of Mequon is running as an independent.

Two incumbent Republican assemblymen representing portions of Sheboygan County face opposition on Tuesday’s ballot.

In the 26th District - which includes the towns of Holland, Lima, Sherman and Wilson, the villages of Adell, Cedar Grove, Oostburg and Random Lake, the city of Sheboygan Falls and 17 wards on the south side of the city of Sheboygan – incumbent Republican Terry Katsma of Oostburg is opposed in his bid for a second term by Democrat Rebecca Clarke of Sheboygan.

Democratic challenger Nanette Bulebosh of the town of Rhine is challenging Republican incumbent Tyler Vorpagel of Plymouth, who is seeking a second term representing the 27th District. The district includes the towns of Herman, Mosel, Plymouth, Rhine, Sheboygan and Sheboygan Falls, the villages of Elkhart Lake, Glenbeulah, Howards Grove and Kohler, the city of Plymouth and eight wards on the north side of the city of Sheboygan.

Incumbent Republican 59th District Rep. Jesse Kremer of Kewaskum is unopposed in his bid for re-election. His district includes the towns of Greenbush, Lyndon, Mitchell, Russell and Scott and the villages of Cascade and Waldo in Sheboygan County.

Voters in those towns and villages have the only state Senate position on the ballot, with Republican incumbent Duey Stroebel of Saukville unopposed for re-election.

There are four county positions on the ballot, with all four uncontested. Incumbent Republican County Clerk Jon Dolson and incumbent Democratic County Treasurer Laura Henning-Lorenz and Register of Deeds Ellen Schleicher all have no opposition.

Republican Joel Urmanski is the only candidate for district attorney. The current district attorney, Democrat Joe DeCecco, is not running for re-election.

Voters in the Howards Grove, Sheboygan and Sheboygan Falls school districts will decide on referendum questions.

In Howards Grove, voters are being asked to approve a $4.7 million school building and improvement program including construction of a new auditorium.

Sheboygan Area School District voters will vote on a $29 million list of district-wide improvements.

In the Sheboygan Falls School District, the question before voters is a $30.9 million proposal to build a new middle school along with other projects.

Town of Wilson voters will decide whether to allow the town to impose a garbage collection fee without reducing the property tax levy by an equivalent amount.

There are also school referenda on the ballot for county residents who live in the Campbellsport and Kewaskum school districts.

Voters are reminded that the state’s Voter ID law is in effect for this election. That requires voters to state their full name and address for poll workers, present an accepted photo ID and sign the poll book before voting.

More information on voting requirements and acceptable forms of identification can be found on the internet at

Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. A complete list of polling places and addresses throughout the county, as well as sample ballots, can be found in a special section included in this issue of The Review.

Most recent cover pages:

Copyright 2009-2019 The Plymouth Review, All Rights Reserved

Contact Information

113 E. Mill St., Plymouth WI 53073
Local: 920-893-6411 Toll Free: 1-877-467-6591
Fax: 920-893-5505

Sheboygan County Economic Development