Spring election gearing up

by Emmitt B. Feldner
of The Review staff

It’s understandable if it sometimes seems that election season never ends.

As counties across the state gear up for a recount of the November presidential vote, the process for the spring 2017 general election is kicking off.

Today (Dec. 1) is the first day potential candidates for the local election can begin circulating nomination papers. Nomination papers must be filed with the appropriate clerk by 5 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 3.

The April 4 ballot will include races for town, village and school boards and city councils. If a primary election is needed for any open position, that would be held Tuesday, Feb. 21.

Four incumbents are up for re-election on the Plymouth City Council – David Williams in the 1st District, John Nelson in the 2nd District, Jack Fernsler in the 3rd District and Charles Hansen in the 4th District.

In the city of Sheboygan Falls, three positions on the City Council will be decided by voters. The incumbents are Al Mayer in the 1st District, Pete Weber in the 2nd District and Cyndi Hartzheim in the 3rd District.

Voters in the county’s 10 villages will elect a village president as well as members of the village board.

In Elkhart Lake, the incumbents are Village President Alan Rudnick and trustees Richard Baumann, Michael Wolf and Richard Sadiq.

Howards Grove voters will also choose a village president and three trustees. The incumbent are Village President James Scheiber and trustees Dirk Hudson, Ed Pahl Jr. and Jeff Plass.

In Cascade, the incumbents are Village President Dave Jaeckels and trustees Jason Harrison, Carrie Krahn and Jim Larson. Unlike other villages, candidates in Cascade will be chosen at a village caucus to be held sometime in January.

The same is true in the village of Glenbeulah, where the open positions are currently held by Village President Douglas Daun and trustees Dale Cary and Scott Starnitcky.

Voters in the county’s 15 townships will fill town chairman positions along with seats on the town board, as well as electing constables in several townships.

Incumbents in the town of Plymouth are Town Chairman Warren Luedke and supervisors Jack Hanke and Glenn Kruschke.

In the town of Rhine, incumbents are Chairman Ronald Red Platz and supervisors Allen Feld and Jon Rost.

Town of Lyndon voters will also elect a town chairman and two Town Board members. The incumbents are Chairperson Kris Hughes and supervisors Dan Mayer and David Roll.

The incumbents in the town of Greenbush are Chairman Mike Limberg and supervisors Beth Legacy and Ken Stemper.

School Board positions will also be on the April 4 ballot.

In the Plymouth School District, the incumbent are Jamie Gambrell in area A (city of Plymouth) and Sally Isely in area B (outside the city of Plymouth).

While candidates for each seat must be residents of the specified area, voters in the entire district can vote for all three seats.

Two positions on the Elkhart Lake-Glenbeulah School Board will be up for election in April. The incumbents are Scott Heinig and Joel Schuler.

Only one seat, currently held by Nate Dehne, is open on the Howards Grove School Board.

There will be two statewide positions on the April ballot – state superintendent of public instruction (incumbent Tony Evers) and Supreme Court justice (incumbent Annette Ziegler.

Voters in the county will also choose a judge for the District 2 Court of Appeals, where the incumbent is Brian Hagedorn.

Most recent cover pages:

With Giannis Antetokounmpo in the NBA All-Star Game Sunday ...:

Copyright 2009-2019 The Plymouth Review, All Rights Reserved

Contact Information

113 E. Mill St., Plymouth WI 53073
Local: 920-893-6411 Toll Free: 1-877-467-6591
Fax: 920-893-5505

Custom Communications Solutions

Pine Haven

Rasmussen Dairy Transit