EL, town races on Tuesday ballot

by Emmitt B. Feldner
of The Review staff

Voters will be bringing their pens to the ballot box Tuesday – in some cases to write in names for offices no one is running for.

But there are a number of races to be decided on Election Day, including one statewide contest and a number of town and village races across the county, along with five contested races in the city of Sheboygan.

Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. for the spring general election – the only election on the schedule this year.

A list of polling places can be found in the sample ballot section included in today’s Review.

The statewide race features a Plymouth native, Dr. Tony Evers, running for a third term as state superintendent of public instruction. He is opposed in the non-partisan race by retired Whitnall School District Superintendent Lowell Holtz.

In the village of Elkhart Lake, incumbent President Alan Rudnick is being challenged by Village Trustee Michael Wolf.

Another incumbent village president, Michael DeHaai in Cedar Grove, also has opposition in challenger Daniel Wenzel. Cedar Grove also has a four-way race for three seats on the Village Board, with voters choosing among incumbents Jeffrey Duenk and Ken Hoopman and newcomers Benjamin Meerdink and David Otte.

There are contests for Town Board positions in five different townships.

In the town of Plymouth, incumbents Jack Hanke and Glenn Kruschke are joined in the race for three seats by Brian Niemi.

Incumbent town of Rhine Supervisor Allen Feld is being challenged by Michael Meeusen for one of two open seats on the Town Board. Incumbent Jon Rost has no opponent for the second open seat on Tuesday’s ballot.

Town of Mitchell Chair William Puetz is giving up that position, but he is one of three candidates for two open positions on the Mitchell Town Board, along with incumbent Patrick Docter and challenger Sharon Kneeland. Supervisor Jackie Veldman is the only candidate for the town chair position.

Matthew Fore is squaring off against incumbents Brian Hoffmann and Tom Stoelb in a contest for two open seats on the Wilson Town Board.

In the town of Mosel, both supervisor positions on the Town Board are up for election, with incumbent David Wagner and challengers Anne Woepse and Brian Wunsch on the ballot.

The field is less than full in races for three village boards and one position on the Plymouth City Council – meaning write-in candidates could win those positions.

Incumbent Jack Fernsler chose not to run for re-election to the District 3 seat on the Plymouth City Council, representing the city’s south side.

In Adell and Howards Grove, there are only two candidates for three open seats on the Village Board, while only one candidate is running for two open positions on the Waldo Village Board.

Voters in the city of Sheboygan will be choosing between incumbent Mayor Michael Vandersteen and Alderman John Belanger in the race for mayor. There are also contested races in the 4th, 5th, 6th and 8th districts for the City Council.

There are no contests for the school boards in Plymouth, Elkhart Lake and Howards Grove.

In the Plymouth School District, incumbents Jamie Gambrell in area A (city of Plymouth) and Sally Isely in area B (outside the city of Plymouth) have no opposition.

While candidates for each seat must be residents of the specified area, voters in the entire district can vote for both seats.

Only one position is open on the Howards Grove Village Board and incumbent Nate Dehne is the only candidate.

Elkhart Lake-Glenbeulah School Board incumbent Scott Heinig is not running for re-election. That leaves Erica Spatz and incumbent Joel Schuler as the two candidates for two open seats on the board.

The ballot also includes a seat on the Wisconsin Supreme Court, District 2 Court of Appeals and three branches of the Sheboygan County Circuit Court. The incumbents in all of those races are unopposed.

Most recent cover pages:

Copyright 2009-2018 The Plymouth Review, All Rights Reserved

Contact Information

113 E. Mill St., Plymouth WI 53073
Local: 920-893-6411 Toll Free: 1-877-467-6591
Fax: 920-893-5505