Elkhart’s Lubach earns Grand National victory

by George Baumann Special to The Review

PLYMOUTH – Russ and Rick Scheffler finished first and second, respectively, in Plymouth Dirt Track Racing’s Late Model A-main event here Saturday night.

Kurt Davis took the checkered flag in the Sprint A-main that was stopped three times after cars flipped. Also winning features were Brad Lubach of Elkhart Lake in the Grand National and Aaron Stolp, West Allis, in the Outlaw Compact Division,

Brad Mueller (Random Lake) paced the first four laps of the Late Model Feature before Rick Scheffler passed him on lap eight.

Charlie Schmidt (Oostburg) slid into second on lap nine and passed Scheffler for the lead on lap 13. Scheffler came back a lap later to regain the point.

A lap-13 yellow flag for debris on the racetrack tightened the field with Russ Scheffler now running fifth behind Randy Markwardt (Sheboygan). Three laps later, Scheffler was in third with Mueller back in front ahead of Rick Scheffler.

In turn two on lap 17, the three front-runners were three-wide with Russ Scheffler coming out ahead and driving to the win. Mueller would finish third with Tim Buhler (Glenbuelah) fourth and Markwardt fifth.

Ted Dolhun Sr. of Milwaukee won the B-main. Heat race winners were Buhler, Markwardt and Rick Scheffler.

In the Sprint Division, Davis started on the pole and paced the field into turn one. Quickly cars behind him were two- and three- wide setting a very fast pace.

On the second lap, Jeremy Schultz (Beaver Dam) drove under Davis for the lead but a lap later, Davis was able to get the lead back and never trailed again.

On the seventh lap, Lance Fassbender (Burnett) flipped hard in turn four with Brian Johnson (Kewaskum) hitting the wall as a result. On the restart, Wayne Modjeski (Oak Creek) worked his way into second but Schultz came back three laps later and regained the spot.

Scotty Thiel (Sheboygan) was very fast on the outside and after a lap-17 crash involving a number of cars, he would move into second. Just two laps later, the race went red again. This time, Ken Jay Fiedler (Sheboygan Falls) flipped in turn two.

Davis now paced the field to the finish with Thiel and Schultz right behind, respectively. Jason Johnson (Allenton) was fourth with Robbie Pribnow (Mayville) fifth.

Fassbender won the B-main with heat race wins going to Scott Conger (Eagle), Schultz, Troy Wondra (Lomira) and Thiel.

The Grand National feature saw John Dirks (Elkhart Lake) lead early with Lubach side-by-side. Lubach then took the lead on the fourth lap and stayed in front the remainder of the race.

The race went yellow on lap six when Brad Dahmer (Sheboygan Falls) got sideways in turn three – collecting Rick Hed (Sheboygan Falls). Three laps later, four cars tangled in turn four – sending one to the trailer and three others to the pits for tires.

Brian Goetsch (Sheboygan), who started ninth, was running third by lap 10 and stayed there until the end. On lap 16, another multi-car wreck occurred and again the race was stopped.

After the restart, Steve Ruh (New Holstein) made his way to fourth and Luke Scholten (Oostburg), who started 18th, would finish in fifth.

Rick Hed (Sheboygan Falls) won the B-main with heat race wins to Jesse Behnke (Brillion), Melissa Singer (Waldo), Scott Houpt (Belgium) and Brian Kaat (Plymouth).

Stolp's Outlaw Compact win came after he and Tim Simon (Fond du Lac) dominated from the start. Simon led until Stolp passed him on the outside on lap eight and they ran nose to tail to the checkered flag.

J.J. Pagel (St. Cloud) was third with Jake Meyer (Plymouth) coming from 11th to fourth ahead of Justin Green (Sheboygan Falls).

Heat races were won by Glen Blanke (Sheboygan Falls) and Meyer.

More results are available at: www.plymouthdtr.com. (George’s Corner). Racing continues Saturday with opening ceremonies at 6 p.m. and racing to follow.

Saturday is designated as Kids’ Night with many drawings for them.

Most recent cover pages:

Copyright 2009-2018 The Plymouth Review, All Rights Reserved

Contact Information

113 E. Mill St., Plymouth WI 53073
Local: 920-893-6411 Toll Free: 1-877-467-6591
Fax: 920-893-5505

Lakeshore Techinical College