Spring election season has begun

by Emmitt B. Feldner
of The Review staff

The calendar hasn’t turned to 2018 yet, but the election calendar for 2018 has already begun.

Friday, Dec. 1, was the first day candidates in the spring 2018 general election could begin circulating nominating papers.

Local offices – county, city, town and village as well as school district – will be on the April 3 ballot.

A primary, if necessary, would be held Tuesday, Feb. 20.

Voters statewide will also elect a new member of the Wisconsin Supreme Court. Incumbent Justice Michael Gableman has already announced that he will not run for another 10-year term on the state’s highest court.

All 25 seats on the Sheboygan County Board of Supervisors will be filled by voters next April. Incumbents include Fran Damp and Thomas Wegner representing the city of Plymouth, Thomas Epping representing the town of Plymouth and Keith Abler representing the village of Elkhart Lake and town of Rhine.

Voters in the city of Plymouth will elect a mayor as well as five – as opposed to the usual four – members of the City Council.

In the 1st Aldermanic District on the city’s northwest side, both positions will be on the April ballot. One contest will be for the remaining year on the seat vacated by David Williams earlier this year, while Greg Hildebrand is the incumbent for the other seat, a full two-year term.

The other incumbents are Mayor Donald Pohlman, Jim Sedlacek in the 2nd District, James Faller in the 3rd District and Shawn Marcom in the 4th District.

In the villages of Cascade and Glenbeulah, candidates for the April election will be chosen at a village caucus to be held at a date in January to be determined. The incumbents are trustees Steve Green, Jerry Hendrickson and Tom Horner in Cascade and Corynn Feldmann and Daniel Grunewald in Glenbeulah.

In other villages, potential candidates are circulating petitions for a space on the April ballot.

Incumbents include trustees Terri Knowles, John Schott and Lynn Shovan in Elkhart Lake and Lee Kunze and Henry Verfuerth in Howards Grove. A third seat on the Howards Grove Village Board up for election in April is currently vacant.

In Waldo, Michael Hintz and Mark Spitz are the incumbents for two seats that will be filled in April.

Town board seats will also be on the ballot. Incumbents include Dan Klahn and John Kline in the town of Greenbush, Patricia Roby and Steve Thome in the town of Lyndon, Gene Blindauer and Roger Rortvedt in the town of Plymouth, and Todd Purkey and Frank Zimmermann in the town of Rhine.

Voters will also be choosing school board members in the spring election.

Incumbents include Jim Henschel, Mike Meeusen and Kim Viglietti on the Elkhart Lake- Glenbeulah School Board and Mark DeAmico and Richard Pearce on the Howards Grove School Board.

In the Plymouth School District, the incumbents are Richard York in area A (city of Plymouth) and Phillip Zellmer in area B (outside the city of Plymouth).

While candidates for each seat must be residents of the specified area, voters in the entire district can vote for both seats.

Most recent cover pages:

Copyright 2009-2018 The Plymouth Review, All Rights Reserved

Contact Information

113 E. Mill St., Plymouth WI 53073
Local: 920-893-6411 Toll Free: 1-877-467-6591
Fax: 920-893-5505