State court race tops spring ballot

by Emmitt B. Feldner
of The Review staff

The city of Plymouth is the odd city out in the April 3 general election.

Of the three cities in the county, Plymouth is the only one that will not have a single contested race on the spring ballot.

That doesn’t mean that Plymouth voters won’t have a choice to make in Tuesday’s election. Like voters throughout the state, they will be electing a new justice on the state Supreme Court, choosing between Milwaukee County Circuit Court Judge Rebecca Dallet and Sauk County Circuit Court Judge Michael Screnock.

City, town and village offices will be on the ballot, along with all 25 seats on the County Board of Supervisors and seats on local school boards.

There is a statewide referendum on eliminating the elected position of state treasurer. Voters in the Plymouth School District will say yes or no on a $31.9 million school building and improvement program. In the city of Sheboygan Falls, a referendum question will ask if voters want to add 12.5 cents to the city property tax rate to create a dedicated fire truck replacement fund.

Mayor Donald Pohlman and five incumbent City Council members are running unopposed in the city of Plymouth. Both District 1 aldermen are on the ballot – Greg Hildebrand for a full two-year term and Nick Wilson for a one-year term, completing the term he was appointed to following the resignation of former alderman David Williams.

The other unopposed incumbents are Jim Sedlacek in District 2, James Faller in District 3 and Shawn Marcom in District 4.

Voters in the town of Plymouth will pick from among three candidates to fill two seats on the Town Board – incumbents Gene Blindauer and Roger Rortvedt and challenger Drew Fritz.

In the village of Elkhart Lake, four candidates are running for three positions on the Village Board – incumbents Terri Knowles, John Schott and Lynn Shovan along with former trustee Michael Wolf.

There is a five-way contest for three open seats on the Cascade Village Board. Incumbent trustees Steve Green, Jerry Hendricksen and Tom Horner are joined on the ballot by Jacob Hollyfield and Josh Karmasin.

In Howards Grove, four candidates are running for three trustee positions. Incumbents Lee Kunze and Henry Verfuerth are on the ballot along with Myron Hafele and Connie Meyer.

There is a three-way contest for two seats on the Mitchell Town Board, with challenger Linnae Wierus taking on incumbents Jen Buelow and Ken Sonntag.

There are races for only three of the 25 County Board seats being filled. Two of those are in the city of Sheboygan, where Brian Smith is challenging incumbent Charles Conrardy in District 1 and Joseph Heidemann is challenging incumbent Curt Brauer in District 10.

The only other County Board race is in the 24th district, which includes the town of Sherman, ward one in the town of Scott and the villages of Adell and Random Lake.

Adell Trustee Arush Chahal is taking on long-time incumbent, Sherman Town Chairman and former County Board Chairman William Goehring there.

Voters in District 23, which includes the town of Mitchell, wards two and three in the town of Scott and wards two and three in the town of Greenbush, have no candidate on the ballot next Tuesday.

Incumbent Richard Bemis had filed non-candidacy papers last December, but no one filed to run for the open position. Bemis has launched a write-in campaign for the seat.

City of Sheboygan Falls voters will have a choice for mayor between incumbent Randy Meyer and challenger Tom Bigler. In the 3rd Aldermanic District, first-time candidate Jacob Immel is taking on incumbent Dawn Beimel.

The city of Sheboygan is reducing the size of its City Council from 16 to 10, creating races for five of the 10 seats being filled in April.

Voters are reminded that the state’s Voter ID law is in effect for this election. That requires voters to state their full name and address for poll workers, present an accepted photo ID and sign the poll book before voting.

More information on voting requirements and acceptable forms of identification can be found on the internet at

Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. A complete list of polling places and addresses throughout the county, as well as sample ballots, can be found in a special section that will be included in the Friday, March 30 issue of The Review.

Most recent cover pages:

Copyright 2009-2019 The Plymouth Review, All Rights Reserved

Contact Information

113 E. Mill St., Plymouth WI 53073
Local: 920-893-6411 Toll Free: 1-877-467-6591
Fax: 920-893-5505