Good day for incumbents Tuesday

by Emmitt B. Feldner
of The Review staff

It was a good day, generally, for incumbents and local referenda in Tuesday’s general election.

Incumbents held off challengers in nearly all contested races on the spring ballot, while voters in the city of Sheboygan Falls and the Plymouth School District approved referendum questions.

County voters did go against the statewide trend in the only state position on the ballot, the race for a seat on the Wisconsin Supreme Court.

That contest, which generated considerable spending and interest, may have contributed to an exceptionally high voter turnout for the spring election.

According to County Clerk Jon Dolson, 36 percent of registered voters – nearly 22,000 in all – cast ballots in the county Tuesday.

While Milwaukee County Circuit Court Judge Rebecca Dallet outpolled Sauk County Circuit Court Judge Michael Screnock statewide for the open seat on the state’s highest court, Screnock outpolled Dallet in Sheboygan County. Screnock got 11,919 votes in the county to 9,782 for Dallet.

Although technically a nonpartisan contest, Dallet won endorsements and support from liberal and Democratic groups while Screnock was backed by conservative and Republican groups.

In county, city, village, town and school board races, only one incumbent who faced a challenge was unseated.

In the city of Sheboygan Falls, first-time candidate Jacob Immel won the 3rd District seat on the City Council from incumbent Dawn Beimel by a margin of 14 votes, 284 to 270.

Sheboygan Falls Mayor Randy Meyer won another term by a margin of 82 votes, 1,125 to 1,043, over his challenger, Tom Bigler.

Sheboygan Falls voters overwhelmingly approved a referendum adding 12.5 cents to the city property tax rate to create a dedicated fire truck replacement fund, with 1,583 yes votes and 585 no.

In the Plymouth School District, voters approved a $31.9 million school building and improvement plan. The vote on the referendum was 2,528 in favor and 1,622 against, a three-to-two margin.

There were no contested races in the city of Plymouth and incumbents were all re-elected – Mayor Donald Pohlman, 1st District Alderman Greg Hildebrand (two-year term) and Alderman Nick Wilson (one-year term), 2nd District Alderman Jim Sedlacek, 3rd District Alderman James Faller and 4th District Alderman Shawn Marcom.

In the village of Elkhart Lake, voters returned three incumbents – Terri Knowles, Lynn Shovan and John Schott – to the Village Board over challenger and former trustee Michael Wolf. Wolf finished with 150 votes to 243 for Schott, 266 for Shovan and 323 for Knowles.

Three incumbent trustees – Steve Green, Jerry Hendricksen and Tom Horner – won re-election to the Cascade Village Board in a field of five candidates. Challengers Jacob Hollyfield and Josh Karmasin fell short.

Voters in the village of Howards Grove chose among two incumbents and two other candidates for three open seats on the Village Board. Incumbents Lee Kunze and Henry Verfuerth were returned to office, while Connie Meyer won the third seat and Myron Hafele fell short. Meyer led the voting with 368 votes to 362 for Kunze, 344 for Verfuerth and 256 for Hafele.

Two incumbents won re-election to the Mitchell Town Board. Jen Buelow and Ken Sonntag were elected in a three-way race with challenger Linnae Wierus.

While all 25 seats on the County Board were on the ballot, only one seat outside the city of Sheboygan had a race.

In the 24th District – which includes the town of Sherman, ward one in the town of Scott and the villages of Adell and Random Lake – incumbent William Goehring easily defeated challenger Arush Chahal, 653 votes to 218.

Voters in the 23rd District – which includes the town of Mitchell, wards two and three in the town of Scott and wards two and three in the town of Greenbush, had no name on Tuesday’s ballot.

But incumbent Richard Bemis, who had initially filed not to run for re-election for health reasons, ran a write-in campaign and polled enough votes to hold on to his seat.

Two incumbent supervisors in the city of Sheboygan – Charles Conrardy in the 1st District and Curt Brauer in the 10th District – won reelection in contested races.

Most recent cover pages:

With Giannis Antetokounmpo in the NBA All-Star Game Sunday ...:

Copyright 2009-2019 The Plymouth Review, All Rights Reserved

Contact Information

113 E. Mill St., Plymouth WI 53073
Local: 920-893-6411 Toll Free: 1-877-467-6591
Fax: 920-893-5505

Weekly Worship Services