Davis, Schlieper, Edler, Schumacher, Ruh visit PDTR victory lane

For one of the few times during the 2018 season, racers gathered for an evening of racing competition at The Plymouth Dirt Track at the Sheboygan County Fairgrounds in Plymouth without the possibility of rain in the forecast on Saturday, June 23.

The Plymouth Dirt Track Racing program featured 105 cars, including 37 B Mods, 25 Sprint Cars, 19 Late Models, 19 Grand Nationals and five Micro Sprints, competing on a very tacky, wide and fast track for a program sponsored by Mayer Automotive.

The first A-main to take to the track was the Richard’s of Dunbar 360 Sprint Car event. 2010 PDTR Sprint Car champion Kurt Davis of South Milwaukee took the lead as the green flag waved and would not be passed during the 25-lap race.

Davis who has won more A-mains in this highly competitive Midwest Sprint Car Association 360 Sprint Car division than any other driver would taste victory for the 18th time with PDTR and 54th occasion with the Midwest Sprint Car Association.

Shane Wenninger of Kewaskum was second, followed by Plymouth’s Justin Miller, Plymouth’s Josh Walter and Tyler Brabant of Waupun.

The Gasroots Project Late Model main event was won by part-time driver Dan Schlieper of Milwaukee, who notched his first career PDTR Late Model A-main triumph. Jim Schmidt of Cleveland placed second, followed by Waukesha’s Mitch McGrath, Tim Buhler of Greenbush and Justin Schmidt of Cleveland.

In the Cellcom B Mod A-main event, Bill Edler of Howards Grove posted his first PDTR B Mod A-main victory. Tom Stark of Egg Harbor placed second with Tim Sheppard of Beaver Dam third, Justin Green of Sheboygan Falls fourth and Tim Warner of Malone rounding out the top five.

Nick Schumacher of Eagle raced to his first career PDTR main event victory in the Klips & Tips sponsored Grand National A main, followed by Sheboygan’s Matt Yancey in second, Kurt Davis third, Josh Pierce of Fredonia fourth and Tyler Kulow of Plymouth fifth.

In the Kristine Hartman- Pleasant View Realty A-main, 2017 champion Preston Ruh of Elkhart Lake would best the small field and posted his third career PDTR Micro Sprint A-main victory. Emily Portschy of Plymouth took second and Andy Rein of West Bend was third.

The next PDTR program will take place on Saturday, June 30, featuring a salute to police, fire and EMS personnel. The racing program, which begins at 6 p.m., will be sponsored by the city of Sheboygan Falls Fire Department and include Late Model driver introductions.

Most recent cover pages:

Manny Machado is set to make $300 million over the next 10 years:

Copyright 2009-2019 The Plymouth Review, All Rights Reserved

Contact Information

113 E. Mill St., Plymouth WI 53073
Local: 920-893-6411 Toll Free: 1-877-467-6591
Fax: 920-893-5505