Falcons to drop divisions in basketball playoffs

by Steve Ottman Falls News Correspondent

The Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association (WIAA) Board of Control unanimously approved a five-division proposal for the state girls and boys basketball tournament, during its year-end meeting Thursday, June 25, in Green Lake.

The change will split up the eight-team Eastern Wisconsin Conference into two divisions. Kewaskum, Plymouth, Two Rivers and Waupun will move to Division 2. Campbellsport, Kiel, New Holstein and Sheboygan Falls will play in division 3.

All eight teams will remain in the current EWC configuration. The change would take effect for the 2010-2011 basketball season.

“I think that this move will benefit the Falls teams,” said Falcons’ girls head coach Leroy Hamilton. “Many of the teams we play in Division 2 moved to Division 3.”

The Division 1 playoff bracket will include schools with enrollments of 1,200 and more students. Division 2 includes schools with between 600 and 1,199 students.

Division 3 will have the top half of schools with enrollments between 200 and 600, while Division 4 will include the bottom half of those schools. Division 5 features schools with enrollments of 200 or fewer students.

Most recent cover pages:

Copyright 2009-2019 The Plymouth Review, All Rights Reserved

Contact Information

113 E. Mill St., Plymouth WI 53073
Local: 920-893-6411 Toll Free: 1-877-467-6591
Fax: 920-893-5505

Lakeshore Galleries

Wood Sampler