Fall election primary on tap Tuesday

by Emmitt B. Feldner of The Review staff

Whichever major party primary they choose to vote in, Sheboygan County voters will have choices to make next Tuesday.

They will also be filling in ellipses rather than completing arrows in the Aug. 14 primary election as the county switches to a new ballot form.

A sample copy of the ballot, along with a list of all candidates, polling places and hours is included in the special sample ballot section included in today’s Review.

By far the most crowded field for voters to choose from is on the Democratic side of the ballot, where 10 candidates are vying for the nomination for governor.

The list of candidates includes Tony Evers, Matt Flynn, Andy Gronik, Mike McCabe, Mahlon Mitchell, Josh Pade, Kelda Helen Roys, Paul R. Soglin, Kathleen Vinehout and Dana Wachs.

Whoever emerges victorious from that pack will likely face incumbent Republican Gov. Scott Walker in the Nov. 6 general election. Walker has only token opposition from Robert Meyer in the Republican primary as he seeks a third term as governor.

There are Democratic primaries for three other state offices – lieutenant governor, secretary of state and state treasurer.

The secretary of state race sees long-time incumbent Doug LaFollette being challenged by Arvina Martin.

Former State Treasurer Dawn Marie Sass is part of a field of three Democratic candidates for her former position. The other candidates are Cynthia Kaump and Sarah Godlewski.

Mandela Barnes and Kurt Kober are running for the Democratic nomination for lieutenant governor.

The Republican ballot also features races for secretary of state and state treasurer.

Jay Schroeder and Spencer Zimmerman are the candidates for secretary of state, while Travis Hartwig and Jill Millies are running for state treasurer.

While incumbent U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin is unopposed in the Democratic primary, five candidates are on the Republican ballot to oppose her bid for a second term.

The two major candidates on the Republican side – Kevin Nicholson and Leah Vukmir – are joined on the ballot by Charles Barman, Griffin Jones and George Lucia.

Legislative races are also on the ballot this fall, but there is only one primary election that involves county voters.

In the 59th Assembly District, which includes the town of Greenbush minus the village of Glenbeulah and the towns of Lyndon, Mitchell, Russell and Scott, incumbent Republican Jesse Kremer of Kewaskum is not running for re-election.

Voters will choose from among four candidates for the Republican nomination for the seat – Ty Bodden, Ken Depperman, Rachel Mixon and Timothy S. Rathmun.

Whoever emerges from that field is virtually assured election in November, as no Democratic candidate filed to run for the seat.

The primary election is an open primary, meaning voters may vote in the party primary of their choice.

Voting for candidates of more than one party may result in an invalid ballot.

Voters are reminded that the state’s Voter ID law is in effect for this election.

That requires voters to state their full name and address for poll workers, present an accepted photo ID and sign the poll book before voting.

More information on voting requirements and acceptable forms of identification can be found on the internet at bringitwisconsin.com.

Most recent cover pages:

Copyright 2009-2018 The Plymouth Review, All Rights Reserved

Contact Information

113 E. Mill St., Plymouth WI 53073
Local: 920-893-6411 Toll Free: 1-877-467-6591
Fax: 920-893-5505